A Day In The Life


Music
March 13, 2009, 11:16 pm
Filed under: Music

I bought a copy of Tom Moon’s “1,000 Recordings To Hear Before You Die.”  It’s a thick  book.  I’ve been wading through it for two weeks and have only scratched the surface.  Reading it is a very humbling experience for a music professional.  Makes me realize that even though I eat, sleep and breathe music, there is always more of the art form to experience.  What Mr. Moon has compiled is so much more than a list of  “must hear” recordings.  It is a comprehensive tribute to the one truly universal language……music. 

I love the Henry David Thoreau quote found on one of the opening pages.  “When I hear music, I fear no danger.  I am invulnerable.  I see no foe.  I am related to the earliest times, and to the latest.” 

If you’re into music, this is a book you should consider adding to your reading list.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

a song can lift me, it can take me to a sad moment, it can help me clean the house, or give me a vacation in the midst of chaos.

I thank God for the gifts he has given so many musicians — so that I can enjoy their hard work.

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

