A Day In The Life


Saturday, February 14
February 22, 2009, 2:37 pm
Filed under: Family

finalscoredistrict091

My niece, Madison is an athlete in the truest sense of the word. She has a God-given gift to excel in just about any physical task she undertakes. As I watched her play in the 5A junior girls’ district basketball championship game, I was filled with pride and awe. Literally amazed at her athletic prowess. Madison isn’t quite 5 feet tall yet she has a vertical jump that is higher than any other girl on the team. Time after time she was in the midst of a cluster of girls under the goal. Time after time she rose above them to rebound the ball.

Of course I love it when she shoots and scores, but what I enjoy watching the most is Madison stealing the ball. She is like a mosquito or an annoying little gnat that keeps on coming no matter how many times you swat it away. Girls on the opposing team would be dribbling and Madison would simply run up and steal the ball in mid-dribble. She is so small and so fast. One second the opposing girl would be in control. The next second Madison would have the ball without any obvious disruption in the bounce of the basketball. Girls would turn their backs to put their bodies between Madison and the ball and Madison would just run around them and still take it away. It is so cool to watch.

Madison just never stops. She isn’t a prima donna either. She leads her team in assists. For the second year in a row, the junior Lady Lions won the district championship. And for the second year in a row, I cried at a basketball game. Madison melts my heart. I admire her so much. And every time I watch her play, I learn from her. Lessons in perseverance, grace, humility and sacrifice for something greater than the individual.

madisonlaughtrophy

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a great kid!!

Comment by Ms. H

She sounds wonderful. How fun it must be to watch her!

My middle son is a natural athlete, and watching what he does, so effortlessly, just amazes me, as I’m quite a klutz!

Comment by Kila




Leave a Reply

