A Day In The Life


Friday, February 13
February 13, 2009, 10:02 pm
Filed under: My Life

I was insulted by a peer at work this week. This person questioned my ability to do my job. To be honest, I didn’t even get angry. I was too stunned by the words that were coming out of his mouth. I did tell him how I felt about what he said. My response was very calm and matter of fact which surprised me. Usually my emotions get the best of me in an adversarial situation. Maybe I’ve reached a new level of maturity. No, what I really think is I remained calm because that person’s opinion means pretty much nothing to me. So why waste energy getting bent out of shape? Eleanor Roosevelt said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.” And I didn’t give that guy my permission. Hmmm, maybe I’m a grownup after all.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I doubt that he was a “peer”
— he was the one that wasn’t a grownup after all.

It feels so good to handle a poor situation with grace.

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

