A Day In The Life


Monday, January 19
January 19, 2009, 9:50 pm
Filed under: Music, My Life, School Buzz

I love teaching music. There is something so intrinsically satisfying about coaxing the perfect sound from a group of young singers. It’s magical. Otherworldly. Eternal. Made all the better when their faces light up with the recognition that they are creating something  beautiful and intensely personal with each other.  A precious gift for anyone who is fortunate enough to be listening.  A gift for themselves that will stay with them long after their tenure in choir is over. 

dec-10th-025-bearcat-chorus-for-tt

I have sixty-two singers in my senior high choir this semester. By far the largest high school choir I’ve ever worked with. And they are an excellent group. Not perfect, but really good kids that I enjoy working with so much. Six of them will be auditioning for membership in the Arkansas All State Choir on February 6. What a joy if all of them make it!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I miss choir! I wish we lived closer so I could take voice lessons from you. *sigh*

Comment by Ms. H




Leave a Reply

