A Day In The Life


We Are Young
September 27, 2008, 11:13 pm
Filed under: My Life, School Buzz

Tonight I watched 13 Going on 30  which somehow seemed a wildly appropriate movie to view after spending most of my day on a choir trip with a busload of teenagers.  

As you may or may not know, the movie features many hit songs from the 80’s one of which is Pat Benatar’s rendition of “Love Is A Battlefield.”  I love the scene with Jenna Rink, the 13-year old with the 30-year old body, talking to her 13-year old neighbor.  Jenna says, “Just remember love is a battlefield,” and the neighbor girl replies, “Wow!  That’s deep.”  Later in the movie, Jenna hosts a pajama party with a pack of 13-year olds in attendance and they sing most of Pat Benatar’s tune while jumping around on a bed.  Which, in turn, reminded me of a scene from my life in the 80’s. 

I was a newlywed. My husband was in the Navy stationed in Virginia Beach, Virginia.  We lived in a townhouse about three blocks from the beach.  Which sounds great, but the townhouses were very cheaply constructed with the thinnest walls imaginable and no carpet on the floors to help absorb sound.  Our neighbors in the adjoining townhouse were Pat Benatar fans.  In fact, the man’s wife thought she really was Pat Benatar.  They had a band which rehearsed in their livingroom at all hours of the day and night.

My husband was on early watch for a month requiring him to get up at 3AM and be at his post on base at 4AM.  After the second night of being awakened around midnight to Mrs. Pat Benatar Wannabe singing “Love Is A Battlefield” accompanied by electric guitars and drums, my husband decided to have a talk with the neighbors.  His talk did absolutely no good whatsoever.  We were awakened at 1AM the following morning by the rock band in full swing next door.  So my husband did what any sleep-deprived, grouchy sailor would do; he called the cops. 

The situation deteriorated even more from that point.  An apartment at a better location became available so my husband and I just moved.  My marriage didn’t last, but my aversion to Pat Benatar’s music survived for many years.

“We are young. Heartache to heartache we stand. No promises, no demands. Love is a battlefield.”  Wow!  That’s deep.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

SO glad that you posted!

I’ve never been a big Pat Benatar fan – what can I say…

I don’t know how you do it every day – spend all that time with teenagers. I have one at home and sometimes it is JUST miserable. I have a feeling she saves her worst moods for home.

Comment by Beckie

Finally!!!!!!!!! A new post! ‘Bout time Songbird! 🙂
Enjoyed visiting with you Saturday. We had to turn around and go back to Burger King because one of my students left their glasses. I was a little bit frustrated! We were almost 10 miles out of town. GGRRR!!!!

Comment by Suzy_Q

I too am so happy to see you post again!! YAY! And wow did you bring back the 80s memories… Your teens look like they are having so much fun! You must collect energy from them vicariously 🙂 I soaked up joy just looking at the pictures!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

Yeah – they sure were fiesty that day!! I miss being a teenager…sigh…having all that energy.

Now I’m going to be humming that song all afternoon.

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

