A Day In The Life


The F-word
July 22, 2008, 10:29 pm
Filed under: My Life

Yeah, the Songbird has been hearing the F-word quite a bit lately.  Really kind of sad.  My friends, Mom, brother, sister, even my nieces have been using the F-word.  What?!!!  Oh, get your minds out of the gutter….I’m not talking about that F-word.  FIFTY.  Yep, that’s the F-word in my life and it’s there…..just waiting around the corner.  Hard to believe in just a few days the Songbird will be FIFTY. 

I didn’t have problems with either thirty or forty, but fifty just seems….well, like mature.  I keep thinking about my decision in 1990 to move back to Arkansas.  One of the main reasons for the move was that my parents were getting older and I didn’t want to live 1200 miles away from them anymore.  My parents were getting older.  Yeah, right.  My mom was 51 and my dad was 53.  My perspective has changed a lot in the 18 years I’ve been back home.  Amazing how aged 50 seemed from the viewpoint of thirty-two as compared to how it’s looking from forty-nine. 

I’ve also had the thought that probably half my life is over.  Heck, more than half my life could be over.  I mean, who really knows?  Thank goodness my positive Pollyanna nature is way stronger than my darker side.  I still see my cup as half full rather than half empty most of the time.  It helps that I have some pretty good celebrity companions that are also hearing the F-word this year.  Madonna, Michelle Pfeiffer and Jamie Lee Curtis are all the same age as me.  But, honestly, some of my friends aren’t helping one little bit as evidenced by this email I received.  

Uh, thanks…..I really needed this. F-word.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Haven’t you heard?! Fifty is the new forty – it’s all good!

Comment by Beckie

That is hilarious! I’m pushing toward 50 too. I keep telling my parents that they aren’t getting older, I’m catching up. Keep up the great attitude and party like it’s 1999!

Comment by Tara R.

LOL!!! LOVE IT!! And I thought 50 was the new 30…but then, I think someone said that makes dead the new 70? Not sure.

Honey, I have my OWN F-word coming up…OMG…should be sunbathe together?

Comment by Tiggerlane

Fifty? You’re still a young chicken. I would love to be fifty again. I think I would. It’s hard to remember……….

Comment by Betty

ouch… I’m ready to slide back down the hill (please)

Comment by Pamela

I’m on the other side of 50, so I guess it doesn’t sound so bad to me now. So Happy Birthday to be! I had a good friend, who told me when I hit 40, that she kept a list of things she did for the first time and always tried to add to it. It seems like a pretty good idea. Sort of a reverse Bucket List. I have had a lot of firsts on this side of 50. It’s really not so bad.

Comment by gawilli

Meh…you are just barely up the hill! I’m going with the train of thought that 50 is the new 30.

Comment by Susan

Well, happy birthday whenever it is!! Who cares what age…as long as you can still have cake and have everyone totally fawn over you!! 🙂 That’s what birthdays are really about, no?

Comment by Claudia




Leave a Reply

