A Day In The Life


When I Grow Up……
July 21, 2008, 12:07 am
Filed under: Fun Monday, My Life

Careers and dreams… Irish Coffee House wants us to write about our childhood dreams and how they did or didn’t evolve into adult careers. What a great Fun Monday topic! Let’s get started.

The first thing I wanted to be was a witch. Aren’t I the cutest little thing?!! I was barely two years old, but I already had career plans. A witch has a broom, a black cat, grows herbs, cooks potions, casts spells, has a wicked cackling laugh and stars in The Wizard of Oz.  I’ve definitely met a few of those criteria. 

My next career goal was to become a pirate. Arrrrrr! This one’s easy…..I was in administrative management for a major corporation for six years. Can’t get much closer to becoming a pirate without sailing the high seas.

At the ripe old age of four, I decided to become a cowgirl. Another easy one. I’ve owned and ridden horses off and on throughout my life. And for the last 18 years as a teacher, I’ve herded children from this location to that location. I’ve cut out the onery cusses and lassoed the wild broncs. Get along little doggies!

Next, I entered my gypsy phase. Let’s see…..while I was working for that major corporation, I moved four times in six years so I guess I could easily say I wandered like a gypsy. Not to mention, I love large, jingling, tingling jewelry.

And, of course, I’ve always dreamed of being a musician. And I am!

Honestly, being a music teacher combines all of my various childhood dreams and career goals. The most important thing is knowing music makes a difference in young people’s lives. I touch the future because I teach. Wow! I love it!

No matter what the job, I’ve always taken time to stop and smell the roses!

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is ONE awesome Fun Monday Entry!!!! You get a big GOLD STAR!!! Love it. Love the photos, love your dreams…love reading about them, and I especially love the fact you still take time to stop and smell the roses. Fantastic.

Come by if you can find time. Have a super-duper Monday.

Comment by Hootin' Anni

What Hootin’ Anni said. I love how you did this post!!! And that all your dreams came true.

Comment by Sayre

We have a lot in common. I wanted to be a cowgirl as well and I am a teacher. Although, not a music teacher! Happy Monday.

Comment by iPost

Great Fun Monday post, love the photos from when you were a child. Good to hear that you love the job that you’re in and are making a difference to the future 🙂

Comment by Sarah

Oh I just love how you did this post! Very awesome and creative!

My children think music, art and science teachers are the best ones! I have to agree! 🙂

Comment by Irish Coffeehouse

This is a beautiful FM post. I enjoyed reading about your career dreams and viewing the photos. Thanks so much for sharing.

Blessings,
Mary

Comment by Mary

What a delightful post, Songbird. You do indeed make the cutest witch ever. I am sure that you do not qualify for true witch status as an adult. However, as a teacher, I definitely have some witchy moments.

Comment by Molly

Songbird, this is absolutely the most delightful Fun Monday post I’ve read today! I’m so glad you have such endearing photos of all your career “stages.”

Comment by Faye

I love, love LOVE all your wonderful career choices and the photos to go with them!

Comment by Susan

Another wonderfully creative way to show us your career. You make a very cute witch, in fact you were cute at every stage! Music is such an important part of most people’s lives so we should all thank our music teachers 🙂

Comment by chrisb

This was a very good post. I am glad you can have a fun career.

Comment by Robocop

I love your post…it is wonderful with all your pictures..very creative. You are another unsung hero..a teacher…I admire you!!

Comment by Alison

I love your post, the photos are wonderful. It’s great that you have them.

Comment by Jan

Great pictures!! I adore the witch. *LOL* I still want to be a witch. 😉 Great post!! Music is one of the loves of my life.

Comment by Debs Buzz

oh this was so wonderful … you are the most musical witch in cowboy boots and hook that I’ve ever met.

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

