A Day In The Life


A Fishing Tale
July 6, 2008, 12:54 am
Filed under: Fun Monday, Life in the South, My Life, Nature, Travel

This is my kind of Fun Monday. Olive wants us to share fishing tales. She doesn’t care if they are total fabrications or true stories. We just have to write about fish.  My story happens to be true.

I very rarely eat fish.  I just don’t like the taste.  Give me shrimp, lobster, scallops, crab, oysters… I’ll eat them all, but fish I don’t like.  However, I love to go fishing.  I grew up fishing in Grandpa’s pond and fishing in the creek behind my parents’ house.  In my twenties, I lived on the coast of Virginia and Maryland and never once went fishing in the ocean even though it was something I’d always wanted to do. 

In June of 2000, I had the pleasure of vacationing in the lovely southern city of Charleston, South Carolina.  I traveled to Charleston with a male friend that I’ll call Jerk because that is what the man turned out to be. 

Charleston is a beautiful city full of southern charm and friendly people. I highly recommend it as a vacation destination. There are a multitude of plantations and gardens to tour and many historical sights to visit. Jerk and I planned the bulk of our vacation via the Net. We went armed with a list of restaurants to try and I must say the food was superb everywhere we ate. We also booked an entire day of fishing in the coastal waters with a guide service. While sitting at my computer in Arkansas, we made our fishing plans. I tried so hard to persuade Jerk to request a private fishing excursion, but he felt we should save the little bit of extra money it would cost to have the boat to ourselves. Big mistake.

The fishing trip was booked for the fourth day of the seven we spent in Charleston. It was the first cloudy day of the vacation.  We arrived at the dock nice and early, met our guide and sat on the boat waiting for the other people who would be fishing with us to show up. Our guide hustled around organizing the fishing gear. The minutes ticked by. Finally, the guide told us if the other folks didn’t show up in the next five minutes we would leave without them. Alas, the Whiners arrived and we set off almost 15 minutes late. But, hey, why should a schedule matter when you’re going fishing, right?

Now, I honestly don’t remember the name of the family who joined us on the boat.  It was a husband, wife and two kids.  I call them the Whiners because that is about all the wife and kids did all day.  I think the husband was the only one who really wanted to fish, but he couldn’t leave his family behind so we all had to put up with the whining.  The poles were too heavy, there wasn’t a bathroom on the boat, it was too hot, the bait was too icky and when it began to rain, it was too wet.  Thank goodness, Jerk and I knew what we were doing because our poor guide had no time for us.  The Whiners couldn’t bait their own hooks, cast their lines, reel in their lines or do much of anything EXCEPT WHINE.  The husband tried to help out for awhile then he just gave up and tended to his own fishing.  Luckily, I was having the time of my life because I was the only person who was catching any fish. 

I caught ten baby sharks and one fish that our guide said was a white fish. (It looked like a pale bass to me.) I was THE ONLY PERSON who caught fish the entire day. It was awesome!

A couple of notes before I conclude my fishing tale:  1. My relationship with the Jerk ended so  badly (two years later) that I destroyed all my Charleston vacation pictures.  It was a childish thing to do, but it felt right at the time.  The baby sharks I caught looked exactly like the one the man is holding in the picture above.  Some were bigger and some were smaller.  2. I released all the fish that I caught.  3. It rained off and on until the early afternoon.  At one point it rained so hard the guide took us to a public dock on an island where we sat under a large gazebo for 30-45 minutes. 

We made it back to our original starting point around 5:30 P.M.  As soon as we got in our vehicle, Jerk and I began laughing about the Whiners.  I’m telling you.  We heard some of the goofiest complaints ever!  Both of us had been thinking about the Whiner’s skits on Saturday Night Live all day.  We returned to our hotel to clean up and rest an hour or so before eating a scrumptious meal and embarking on a night tour of The Battery .  It was a perfect day.  Neither the rain nor the Whiners managed to dampen my spirit or ruin my first time to fish in the ocean!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a nicely told story. I have fished in the ocean off the coast of Florida but never anywhere else. It sounds like you had a wonderful time catching those sharks. That would have been fun to me. Too bad for the whiners!

Comment by Olive

Glad you enjoy your day – though I never quite got the whole need for fishing. I think it is a disorder of some sort, the need to fish >:-) but if you can enjoy it with the jerk, the weather, and the whiners.

Comment by IamwhoIam

Sounds like fun, despite the whiners! Im glad you let all the fish go though!

Comment by Karisma

My first thought? Oh oh!!! You’re not gonna like my fish tales!

But then…..it would be awesome to catch shark I think! And what a lovely area to dabbling around with bait!!! Too bad Jerk ended up as he did tho.

Loved your Fun Monday fish tale.

Comment by Hootin Anni

Great story! Nice to meet someone else that has a history in Maryland!! Where are you located now? I’ve always wanted to do the ocean fishing thing too, but never have!

Comment by Tracey

I want to hear about the reunion! 🙂

Comment by Suzy_q

I enjoyed reading of your day with the Jerk & the Whiners. Thanks for sharing and Happy Fun Monday!
Hugs and blessings,

Comment by storyteller

That was a great story and you certainly got a good haul. I think if I had been that wife I would have refused to go fishing and found myself something else to do for the day!!

Comment by chrisb

Wow, great story and I’m glad you put them all back. It must have felt so good being the Queen of the catchers that day. 😀

Comment by Jo Beaufoix

great story. I am so glad you didn’t allow other peoples’ negativity to ruin your awesome time!!!

Comment by Alison

Your little sharks are much prettier than my hammerhead was!

Comment by Sayre

The best part of the story, “Neither the rain nor the Whiners managed to dampen my spirit or ruin my first time to fish in the ocean.” But, I suspect that you generally have a positive attitude towards life, and so you enjoy your life more than people like the Whiners. 😀

Comment by Molly




Leave a Reply

