A Day In The Life


Words To Live By
March 30, 2008, 7:54 pm
Filed under: Fun Monday

Robin at Pensieve has asked us to share some of our favorite inspirational quotes for this Fun Monday challenge.   What a wonderful idea!  I am a quote-aholic.  There is a very fat file folder full of quotes in my top desk drawer.  There is a menagerie of index cards taped to the wall near my desk at school with inspirational words that I refer to throughout my day.  Two of my favorites are “Attitude is everything” and “Never complain about what you permit.”  Excellent jewels of wisdom for a teacher!  Here are some more of my favorites.

“He restoreth my soul: He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for Thou art with me…”  Psalm 23: 3-4a

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”   Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Music and rhythm find their way into the secret places of the soul.”   Plato

“We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams.  Yet we are the movers and shakers of the world forever it seems.”  Arthur O’Shaughnessy

“To laugh often and much; to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; to earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived.  This is to have succeeded.” 
Ralph Waldo Emerson

“Whoever you are, there is some young person who thinks you are perfect.  There is some work that will never be done if you don’t do it.  There is someone who would miss you if you were gone.  There is a place that you alone can fill.”   Jacob M. Braude

“Art teaches nothing ,except the significance of life.”  Henry Miller

“I am enough of an artist to draw freely upon my imagination.  Imagination is more important than knowledge.  Knowledge is limited.  Imagination encircles the world.”  Albert Einstein

“What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us; what we have done for others and for the world remains and is immortal.”  Albert Pike

“You are in charge of your feelings, beliefs and actions.  And you teach others how to behave toward you.  While you cannot change other people, you can influence them through your own behaviors and actions.  By being a living role model of what you want to receive from others, you create more of what you want in life.”  Eric Allenbaugh

“He giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might He increaseth strength.  Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall: But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not be faint.”  Isaiah 40: 29-31

“Awake, awake, my soul and sing!  The time for praise has come.  The silence of the night has passed; a new day has begun.  Let music never die in me!  Forever let my spirit sing!  Wherever emptiness is found, let there be joy and glorious sound.  Let music never die in me!  Forever let my spirit sing!  Let all our voices join as one to praise the Giver of the song.  Awake! Awake!  Let music live!”  Joseph M. Martin

18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like your quotes. I especially like the words Martin Luther King. I plan to post that quote at school. Thank you.

Comment by Molly

The Baude quote is one I’m not familiar with, but how true. We are all unique and have our own special place in the world. I also liked the Allenbaugh quote as a reminder that we have a great deal of influence in teaching people how we want to be treated.

Comment by Faye

What amazing quotes you have shared!!!I love them all!!!
I would like to share a couple with you…
“One good teacher outweighs a ton of books.” Chinese proverb
“Music is heard with the ears, understood with the heart.” I have no clue who said it or where I got it from but in my folder of quotes I found 2 different pieces of paper with it written down on, I loved it that much!!

Comment by Kaytabug

I hope Braude is right — that there is a place only I can fill.

wonderful — all of them.

Comment by Pamela

I love the Plato one and the Ralph Waldo Emerson. There are some really inspiring quotes here. Brill.

Comment by Jo Beaufoix

“In the end, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”

VERY profound isn’t it?!!!!!

Comment by Hootin' Anni

Very nice quotes there! Love them all! So so love them all…and since I collect quotes, this means I’m able to add to my list…Thanks!

Happy Monday!

Comment by Mariposa

I liked the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr quote. I’ve never heard that one and will be writing it down. Lots of great quotes!

Comment by Joy T.

I am re-acquainting myself with a lot of good quotes today. I particularly like the Martin Luther King, Pike and Braude quotes.

Comment by chrisb

Very good quotes!

Comment by kitten (Katie)

“What does not kill me, makes me stronger” – Friedrich Nietzsche

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world” Ghandi

I have always loved the Emerson quote too.

Comment by Tara R.

I think the Albert Einstein quote is my favorite of all of these…

You DID go quote-crazy, Woman!

Comment by Tiggerlane

A little of this and some of that with a touch of truth in them all

Comment by IamwhoIam

I love these quotes. Most are new to me. Never can have enough quotes.

Comment by janprytz

Einstein was definitely smarter than the average bear.

Comment by Sayre

whoa. That quote by Dr. King is SOOOOOOOO True. A Friend’s silence when you really need it speaks volumes.

Comment by Karmyn R

those are wonderful…Emerson is my favorite.

Comment by Alison

Thank you for the Allenbaugh quote. I had not heard that before but it certainly does resonate.

Comment by Sandy




Leave a Reply

