A Day In The Life


I’m Not Green
March 16, 2008, 6:20 pm
Filed under: Fun Monday, Jasper

puppylove.jpg

Hello! I’m not green, but I’m here to wish you a Happy St. Patrick’s Day just the same. I am mighty cute and that counts for something, doesn’t it?  Songbird is busy writing lesson plans so she asked me to handle this Fun Monday St. Patrick’s Day post hosted by Nikki.

cutiepatootie.jpg

Special words are the theme today; words that are goofy and crazy and only have meaning to the family members who use them.   Songbird’s sister was terrified of storms when she was a little sprite.  Any time a dark cloud drifted up and thunder rumbled, little sister would say, “Is a nortado (tornado) coming?”  As a child, Songbird’s brother had problems pronouncing ‘oil’.  He made it a three syllable word:  oh-wee-uhl.  Songbird used to babysit a little girl who would squeal with delight and shout “Lookie, lookie, a sqervuhl (squirrel)!” 

jasper.jpg

Nikki also asked for green beer stories.  Neither Songbird nor I have ever had green beer.   In fact, I ‘ve never had beer of any color.  And that’s a radio antenna sticking up behind my head in case you’re wondering.  We were listening to the Razorback game while sitting on the back porch. 

jasperhunting.jpg

Okay, well that’s all for today. I’m off to hunt shamrocks. (I’m really hunting lizards, but I wanted to stick with the St. Patrick’s Day theme.)  See ya!  Jasper

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great job Jasper….I hope you found some lizards!!!

Comment by Alison

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, Jasper! Oh, and Songbird, too!

Comment by gawilli

that is one cute irish weiner!

loved your words. As I’m reading the posts I keep thinking of similar words from our household

Comment by Pamela

great post Jasper~ nortado very funny 🙂

Happy Hunting!

Comment by chrisb

Love it – especially nortado.

Comment by Ann

Okay – tell Songbird that she TOTALLY must frame that first photo of yours – your smile is FANTABULOUS!

Hunt some sqervuhls for me, while you’re out there.

Comment by Tiggerlane

ha! that reminds me of what we say ‘sqwirrelll” like Veruca Salt in charlie and the chocolate factory. so funny!

Comment by jill

Great job! Love the words!

Thanks for playing. (And nortado’s scare the crap out of me.)

Comment by nikki

Watch out for those nortados, Jasper – even though it almost sounds like something good to eat.

Comment by Karmyn R

That neighbor kid didn’t grow up to be Zsa Zsa Gabor, did she?

Comment by Sayre

love the squervul. Sounds so cute!

Comment by Heather

Jasper is too cute! arent doxies great little hunters? I love the breed.

Comment by barngoddess

Ah Jasper! You can take over Fun Monday responsibilities any week. You’re a major cutie patootie!

Comment by Faye

Nortados are scary! Great job, Jasper. Is your rabies tag a shamrock?

Happy St. Paddy’s.

Comment by Sandy

Jasper, you are adorable! I’m afraid to ask what you do with those lizards…I mean shamrocks.

Comment by giveitatry

Jasper is magnificent! My family had a miniture black and tan when I was a kid…they are wonderful companions.

Comment by Tara R.




Leave a Reply

