A Day In The Life


They Said It First
March 9, 2008, 6:38 pm
Filed under: Fun Monday

Ah, the I.T. Guy put forth an excellent assignment for Fun Monday. He asked us to share some of our favorite movie quotes and the characters who spoke said quotes. He also wants us to mention a person to whom we might actually say these lines.  But, the I.T. Guy just had to make the challenge difficult by limiting us to only five quotes.  I don’t know if I can stick with that rule or not.  I could actually list five favorite quotes using only one movie; one of the greatest movies ever made.

gonewiththewind1.jpg

“Fiddle dee dee!”  Scarlett O’Hara (Vivien Leigh) said this to a variety of people throughout the movie. She even said it when talking to herself.  It is a wonderful all-purpose exclamation and I find myself wanting to say it to the I.T. Guy about his Fun Monday five quote limit.  “Fiddle dee dee!”

“Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.”  Another fabulous all-purpose quote from Gone With the Wind.  Rhett Butler (Clark Gable) said this to Scarlett O’Hara Butler as he was walking out the door leaving her sobbing and wondering what she would do now that she finally realized she didn’t love Ashley Wilkes after all.  If I ran into any of the three men with whom I had major relationships, two marriages and a two-year engagement, I would happily use this quote just so they’d know how I feel about them now.  “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.” 

“Buckle your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.”  Margo Channing (Bette Davis) said this to her friends Lloyd and Karen Richards (Hugh Marlowe and Celeste Holm) as they gathered for Margo’s engagement party in All About Eve.  It’s a wonderful quote especially as delivered by the marvelous Bette Davis, one of my favorite actresses of all time.  This is what I would say to Tiggerlane if she ever talked me into spending another evening with her friend B.  For some reason B roasted me over the coals, so to speak, when I was at a party in her home with Tigger and Roger.  Ouch!  “Buckle your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.”

bettedavis1.jpg

“I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!”  This was Howard Beale’s (Peter Finch) on-the-air battle cry in the 1976 movie Network.   I had a blow up with a woman in a school administrative position several years ago.  I didn’t actually use these exact words, but what I did say was certainly in the spirit of this quote.  If I ever had to lock horns with this woman again, I just might quote Howard Beale.  “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take this anymore!”

“Then close your eyes and tap your heels together three times and think to yourself , ‘There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home.’ ”  Glinda, the Good Witch of the North (Billie Burke),  gave these instructions on using the ruby red slippers to Dorothy (Judy Garland) in The Wizard of Oz.  I’ve said the final five words of this quote many times simply because they are so true.  “There’s no place like home.”

Well, fiddle dee dee, I’m going to be rebellious and list two more quotes that are just too good not to share.  If you want to stop reading, you can head on over to visit the I.T. Guy and read the posts of folks who don’t blatantly break the rules!  Otherwise, read on….

“You know how to whistle don’t you, Steve?  Just put your lips together and blow.”  I adore Lauren Bacall.  She was nineteen when she starred with Humphrey Bogart in To Have and to Have Not.  It was Lauren’s first film and the beginning of her relationship with Bogie.  Marie ‘Slim’ Browning (Bacall) quipped this to Harry ‘Steve’ Morgan (Bogart).  I can’t imagine who I might say it to, but it’s a great line.  “You know how to whistle don’t you, Steve?  Just put your lips together and blow.”

“I always say a kiss on the hand might feel very good, but a diamond tiara lasts forever.”  This is from Gentlemen Prefer Blondes and I’m not sure if Marilyn Monroe or Jane Russell said it.  I have a feeling Marilyn did the honors.  It sounds like a perfect segue into “Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend” and I know Marilyn sang that tune.  I’ll have to rent the movie to refresh my memory.  A great line to remember if I find myself getting goofy over another man…….“I always say a kiss on the hand might feel very good, but a diamond tiara lasts forever.” 

19 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Boy, do I remember that night! Yeah – I would have warned you, had I seen it coming.

BTW, it WAS Marilyn – imdb.com, and then go to the movie, and then the quotes section. Works like a charm!

Comment by Tiggerlane

I can hear Bette Davis saying that quote, “Buckle your seat belts, it’s going to be a bumpy night.” She was such an interesting actress.

Comment by Molly

Ha, I almost chose Margo Channing’s line too…and yes, limiting it to just 5 made it hard! Love your choices…and now I don’t feel bad for not posting some lines I wanted…you did it for me! Have a FM!

Comment by Mariposa

How freeing if we could give ourselves permission to tell the bullies of the world–“I’m mad as hell. . .” P.S. love your pooch in the earlier post–great photos.

Comment by Faye

Buckle your seat belts…I love that one.

Comment by gawilli

Great minds think alike…glad I think like you do. Go take a peek at my place…I mean The Asylum.

Comment by Swampy

I have three so far for “Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn” and I’ll be surprised if there isn’t more who choose it, liked your others too.

Comment by Peter

I really had fun reading you post. Thank you for joining. 🙂 I got a VCD of “Gone with the Wind” and watched it together with Mariposa. It was a great movie! I loved it! Happy FM!

Comment by IT Guy

Great balls of fire girl!!! You did ONE excellent job for the quotes. I like “Of all the bars in the world she had to pick mine”.

If you haven’t stopped by my blog for the FUN MONDAY movie quotes I hope you can find time. I’d love to have you pay me a visit.

Comment by Hootin' Anni

Great movie quotes. Enjoyed visiting you on Fun Monday. Jen

Comment by Jennifer

I’ve said the whistle line before too!

I should have played along today.

Comment by Karmyn R

Ditto the whistle line… I actually said it with a straight face to my son before I realized what I’d said.

Comment by Sayre

Those are good ones! It is funny all of the movie lines I have Forgotten!

Comment by giveitatry

lol I love the “buckle your seat belts one”- and with the story you provided, what an absolutely perfect use for it!

Great quotes!

Comment by Irish Coffeehouse

Those were great quotes. My husband loves old films (my kids are forever asking if Dad is watching another black and white movie!) and has turned me on to their charms.

Comment by Heather

oh my. this was good! I am a fan of GLinda…

Comment by barngoddess

fabulous! you have some very good ones here.

Comment by janet

Good qoutes!! but more movies I haven’t seen!!

Comment by jettied

all familiar and favorite quotes. Especially Fiddle dee dee. I heard that from my husbands gram many times.

One of my favorite was from Paper Moon. It may have been Tatum O’Neal. “She’s just like
that little white speck on top of old chicken shit.”
I know it was kind of crass, but it sure describes some people, doesn’t it?

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

