A Day In The Life


Quarter Notes
February 24, 2008, 10:13 pm
Filed under: Fun Monday

I can’t believe I only did one post all of last week!  And here it is Monday again.  This weeks’ Fun Monday assignment by Mariposa is an easy one.  She wants us to explain our blog name then share a dish we like to prepare. 

My blog name is simple.  I am a musician and a music teacher so I used a musical term as my blog title.  The quarter note is generally the first musical symbol a student learns to recognize.  In common time, a quarter note receives one beat.  I should have scanned a piece of music so you could actually see quarter notes, instead I am posting an all state choir rehearsal picture.  I can assure you that these young men sang plenty of quarter notes! 

maxchoir.jpg

Now for a dish I like to prepare…..something simple made with ingredients that are staples in my kitchen. I love breakfast and on the weekend when I usually have plenty of time to cook, I like to make pancakes.

One cup flour
Two tablespoons sugar
Two teaspoons baking powder
Three-fourths cup milk
One egg

Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. I usually mix them together with a fork. Measure out the milk in a one-cup measuring cup then add the egg to the milk and whip that together with a fork until the egg is thoroughly mixed with the milk. Add the milk/egg mixture to the dry ingredients and stir until smooth. Melt a couple of tablespoons of butter in a skillet or on the grill then pour out the batter. This recipe makes four medium-sized pancakes.

Sometimes I add a teaspoon of cinnamon to my dry ingredients and when my blueberry bushes are producing berries, I add one-fourth cup of fresh blueberries to the batter right before I pour it in the skillet.  A fourth-cup of chopped pecans is another ingredient I sometimes add to my pancakes. And heated maple syrup is a must for maximum yumminess!

Spring is knockin’ on the door in Arkansas! Enjoy your Monday!

crocusbunch.jpg

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love the appearance of your blog–so clean and easy to read. And of course your blog name must be music related. By the way, there’s an award for you over at my place. Enjoy!

Comment by Faye

I love your blog name! I’m not a fan of pancake but my bf like them! 😉

Comment by Mariposa

You blog is aptly named.
Blueberry pancakes are wonderful and I love your crocus picture.

Comment by chrisb

I just made my first “from scratch” pancakes last weekend! They were a huge hit with my grandson. I will try your recipe this weekend. It looks much simpler.

I like your new layout, too.

Comment by Sandy

Pancakes… the universal meal, breakfast, lunch and dinner! My in-laws are also in Arkansas. My niece will be attending Arkansas State this Spring.

Comment by Tara R.

Great name for a blog if you’re a music teacher for sure. And MMmmm I love pancakes, especially blueberry pancakes!

Comment by Joy T.

A great name.

I love the picture of spring….you are likely north of me, but I haven’t seen anything like that, yet (although the butterfly bushes are putting on leaves).

Comment by Celeste

Both NLL and I grew up in the band. She played clarinet and piano. I was a neurotic percussionist, still am. Our daughter played flute/pic and now our youngest plays percussion (has a contest this weekend), piano and will soon start guitar lessons. We love music and can’t get enough. Our family has different tastes but it makes us (forces us) to appreciate the other.
I love pancakes, and though it may sound gross, I grew up eating them with mustard. Yes, it seemed weird, but them I added sausage and cheese and made wonderful sandwiches. Oh well. See ya! NLM

Comment by Nekked Lizard Man

We love pancakes. ANd waffles. And French Toast. ANd syrup! You get the point.

Comment by Cynthia

Interesting how blogs are named!

I also like your blog, it is clean and easy to read. I do not like the ‘busy blogs’ with blinkies and ads and all that stuff in the side bars.

Pancakes! yummy! I love them but hubs does not…Ive been craving some too….

Comment by barngoddess

Great blog name…. and THANK YOU for bringing me spring today!!!! We are accumulating about 6 inches of snow…. a dose of spring is what I needed. You are an angel of mercy today!

Comment by GrimRealityGirl




Leave a Reply

