A Day In The Life


The Song That Is Me
February 10, 2008, 12:35 am
Filed under: Fun Monday, Music, My Life

These Fun Monday assignments just keep getting more difficult.   Julie has asked us to chose one song that truly describes ourselves; the one song that is me.  An impossible task for a music teacher!  I started singing before I could even speak plainly.  My life has been and still is filled with songs.  How could I possibly narrow it down to one song that describes me? 

I’ve been thinking about it all week and here is what I came up with: 

amazinggrace.jpg

On the other hand,  this poem that I wrote several years ago in honor of my senior choir students also very aptly describes the song that is me.

I can’t imagine a life without music.
It fills my heart and soul.
It’s a constant companion, a voice within
when the world seems bitter and cold.

And you, my dear students, are my greatest song.
Your lives are a sweet melody.
And no matter how old or how far you’ve gone
You are still the music inside of me.
Your smiles are the harmony, strong and true
Your voices the notes of my life.
Why seek fame or great wealth when I know what I do
Is perfectly, perfectly right?
And you, my dear students, are my greatest song
Your lives are a sweet melody.
And no matter how old or how far you’ve gone
You are still the music inside of me.

 

Now stand up straight, breathe deeply and sing your way over to Julie’s for more life-defining songs! Do, re, mi, fa, sol, la, ti, do…….

30 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hard assignment!

beautiful poem!

I would have no idea what song would best describe me, it would have to be a melting pot of a hundred or so……….

Comment by barngoddess

I agree this is tough assignment and I still haven’t finished writing my post! Your poem is really beautiful.

Comment by chrisb

It was a tough assignment, and I think you’d be horribly disappointed in my choice, but I did my best.

This wasn’t fair to us musical folks!

Comment by Tiggerlane

Lovely post. I was finding this the most difficult challenge yet, but then inspiration struck.

Comment by Ann

Very nice choice. Great post. Happy Monday.

Comment by Serina

I had a very hard time with this week’s challenge as well. You made a terrific choice!

Comment by Bevvy/Beverly

Amazing Grace is beautiful. your poetry even more so. Thanks for playing

Comment by julie

You picked a wonderful one and the poem you wrote makes me wish I had you for a music teacher.
enjoy the music God has put in your heart…
http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2008/02/10/fun-monday-music/

Comment by Ellen

what a wonderful post. music is one of the things that define me as well — which explains my email address 🙂

Comment by janet

A great song choice one of the best songs. Great poem also.

Comment by my4kids

Amazing Grace is just such a gorgeous song. Have heard it sung in so many different ways and it always sends shivers down my spine. Your poem is awesome too.

Comment by Sarah

Beautiful…Just beautiful. I hardley ever can sing Amazing Grace without tearing up!!

Comment by jettied

Amazing Grace is possibly one of the most beautiful songs I have ever hear. Have you ever listend to Eva Cassidy’s version? It leaves me speechless. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3Zb-GJENZg

Comment by Aoj & The Lurchers

Apologies for my appalling spelling this morning!

Comment by Aoj & The Lurchers

Amazing Grace just showers me with awareness of God every time I hear it. Your poem is amazing! I’m assuming your students know how lucky they are – it’s usually a reciprocal kind of thing…lol.

Comment by Sandy

amazing grace is a good one. this is one of my favorites from choir..

There is a melody
keeps coming back to me
bouncing round and round
it has a merry tune

and though its not well known
still its my very own
song to sing everywhere i go

so i sing
out this simple song
sing
as i walk along
lift
up the melody
to the sky

and i hear
as the tune goes round
(ring) singing its merry sound
calling to all who pass by

its in a round so some of it is soprano and some alto, but its so simple and everyone picks it up really quickly…

Comment by jill

Amazing Grace is one of my favorite hymns. Have you ever heard it sung to the tune of “I’d Like To Teach the World To Sing”? Beautiful poem, too.

Comment by Jenni in KS

What a beautiful poem. And Amazing Grace is one of my all time favorites- wonderful choice!!

Comment by Melanie

Love, LOVE your post!!!! Most have videos and you….you chose to share the sheet music. And for this particular song….you did right in my mind. There is something about this song that I think everyone stops and really listens to the message it brings forth.

Excellent

Comment by Hootin' Anni

I bet this task for you was hard. I did enjoy both the lyrics and the poem.

Comment by Robocop

Amazing Grace issuch a wonderful choice! And I love the poem you wrote!

Comment by Lisa's Chaos

This was a tricky assignment, but you did an amazing job.

The sheet music is inspired!

Comment by rotten correspondent

Sunday night we had an Old-Fashioned Hymn Sing at my church. We sang all the old favorites like The Old Rugged Cross, Leaning on the Everlasting Arms, etc. Although I like what our choir does, I must admit that I enjoy singing straightforward versions of the old favorites. For one thing, this alto-with-no-vocal-range can sing them!

Here’s my Fun Monday

Comment by ari_1965

Of course, your choice is fabulous…maybe the best. The song probably describes many of us.

Comment by Molly

Your poem is truly beautiful. I can’t believe you wrote that! I bow to your wonderful prose.

Comment by anglophilefootballfanatic

Amazing Grace is probably the number one Christian song. Everyone loves it and it can be played anywhere. Your poem made me think of Mr. Holland’s Opus. What a great movie!

Comment by Junebug

I love the Hymns. I used to play for a church and now, when I find the time to sit down at the piano, that’s all I’ll play. I will just go through the couple of Hymnals I have and just keep flippin’ the pages. Thanks for playing FM!

Comment by Nekked Lizard Lady

whenever I hear amazing grace, especially with bagpipes, I cry. It reminds me of my dad!! beautiful poem!

Comment by Alison

That is beautiful!

Comment by Cynthia

Beautiful poem. Amazing Grace is just a special song. Great post!!!!

Comment by Debs in her Patch




Leave a Reply

