A Day In The Life


Nerves and Super Heroes
February 4, 2008, 7:47 pm
Filed under: Music, School Buzz

allstatecartoonbetter.jpg

Well, here they are. The super heroes of my high school choir. The students who qualified to audtion for the Arkansas All State Choir.  The auditions were scheduled for Friday, February 1, but they had to be postponed due to a winter storm that hit the northern part of the state on the Thursday before the audition date.  The new audition date is tomorrow,  February 5. 

I am really uptight, nervous, stomach tied in knots which is very unusual for me.  Normally, I’m very cool, calm and collected before a big performance or audition date.  I can’t figure out if I’m nervous because of the auditions or because of the weather forecast.  We have a large storm system moving across the state tomorrow with severe thunderstorms, hail, and tornadic winds all scheduled to appear.  As if that weren’t enough, one of my students was diagnosed with the flu this morning and will be unable to audition and another of my super heroes ran a low-grade fever all day today and, depending on how he feels in the morning, may or may not be able to audition.  So I’m dealing with nerves tonight. 

The journey to all state auditions actually begins in August when my students receive and begin working on their all region audition music.  All region auditions are held in October and only the top thirteen scores in each voice classification are eligible to move on to the all state level.  These top students must learn five new pieces of  advanced-level music in preparation for all state.  That may not sound like too large of a musical hurdle to jump, but it is actually very difficult.  The all state audition music is too advanced for my entire high school choir to master so my four super hero musicians have been working on their own and at after school rehearsals with me in preparation for audition day.  It takes a lot of self-discipline, desire and dedication as well as musical skills and talent to become an all state choir member.  And the competition is brutal because all the students who audition are the super heroes of their own school choirs. 

So here I am dealing with nerves tonight.  Hoping that the power of the storms in the forecast will recede and fade away while the power of my students’ young voices will gain strength and blow the judges away. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My prayers are with you and the kiddos! Best of luck.

Comment by Sandy

good lookin’ bunch!

((hugs)) I hope it works out for you.

The storms are supposed to be here in Oklahoma
sometime after midnight. Hopefully they’ll have the
punch already blown out by the time they
reach Arkansas……

Comment by barngoddess

Now I’m all worried about who isn’t going to the audition…send me an update, ASAP!

Comment by Tiggerlane

That photo is SO cool! How did you do that? I can’t wait to see what other mad photo skills you develop. (Ooo, I made a pun!)

I hope all went well. It’s got to be nerve wrecking enough without all those other challenges.

Comment by Susan

deep breath, in through nose — open mouth and slowly breathe out.
Do it again. And again. Relax.

There now.

We’re pulling for all of you!!

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

