A Day In The Life


Ear Feast
February 2, 2008, 1:16 am
Filed under: Music

I treated myself to five CD’s this week. Went a little nuts on Amazon.com, but have certainly been enjoying my shopping spree.

martinsexton1.jpg 

I had never heard of Martin Sexton until Gawilli wrote about him a few months back.   I have to say this is my favorite of the five CD’s.  This man has a voice and knows how to use it.  Sexton doesn’t limit himself to one musical style.  Funk, blues, country, folk, rock; there is a bit of everything on this CD including an outstanding cover of Billy Preston’s “Will It Go Round in Circles”.  

daughtry.jpg

It’s slick and commercial, but I like a lot of what Daughtry has to offer.   “Home” is my favorite tune, but “Breakdown” and “Crashed” are also good. 

norahjones.jpg

I am a sincere fan of Norah Jones.  I love her smoky little voice and clever lyrics.   She is so much fun to sing along with.  The instrumentation on this CD is much more diverse than her previous releases.  “Sinkin’ Soon” and “My Dear Country” are cabaret-style ditties with surprisingly serious lyrics.  Very clever.

wilco.jpg

My brother encouraged me to check out Wilco.  I bought Sky Blue Sky and discovered once again that he and I , more often than not, agree on what constitutes good music.   I don’t know much about this group, but a lot of the tunes on this CD made me think of the late 60’s offerings of the Stones and the Beatles.  The guitar riffs in “Hate It Here” are very Beatle-esque. 

secondhandserenade.jpg

I bought this CD on the recommendation of one of my high school choir students. This artist calls himself Secondhand Serenade. He does the lead vocals plus all the harmonies and the resulting sound is similar to Extreme with an alternative rock twist. The CD is definitely worth owning and John Vesely is a fine vocalist, but I felt that some of the songs would sound better without the really high harmonies laid over the original tracks. Since Vesely does all the vocals, there is a sameness to every song which detracts from some truly beautiful melodies and lyrics.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for pointing me in the direction of some new tunes. I probably will not buy the last one but….don’t you think the cover looks like it might have been made using the 1-2-3-4 system on the band meme from last week?

Comment by Sandy

dont ya just love Amazon????

Comment by barngoddess

Songbird! I’m so glad you are enjoying Martin Sexton. It’s interesting to note that another fellow blogger suggested him to me on her blog. I guess it did “go around in circles”! Looks like you are having a music fest in your living room. I’ll bring the wine.

Comment by gawilli

My Fun Monday is posted. I had a good time this week, voicing my opinions on Fun Monday.
Happy week to you.

Comment by Hootin' Anni

Nice list. I am not sure if I would want to visit all 50 states.

Comment by Robocop

I love love love nora. She’s my bff. honestly.

Comment by Vicki




Leave a Reply

