A Day In The Life


Cynicism
January 14, 2008, 10:02 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends, School Buzz

Every Monday I have after school bus duty which means I stand outside rain, sleet, snow or shine and monitor the elementary students who ride buses home from school.  It takes about 45 minutes so in between cautioning students not to run and settling disputes over who is first in line, I get to hear some interesting conversations. 

Today a group of 4th and 5th grade girls were talking about Hannah Montana.  Some of the girls had been to a Hannah Montana concert and the overall theme of their conversation was very positive.  In the midst of my eavesdropping, a third grade boy approached me and said, “Ms. T., I don’t know why they like Hannah Montana so much.  She’s just going to end up like Lindsay Lohan and Britney Spears.”  I know the little boy was probably repeating something he’d heard one or both of his parents say, but it struck me as so cynical.  And very sad.  Our children so desperately need positive role models, but, unfortunately, they are few and far between in our current crop of youthful celebrities. 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is sad. I think that we were better protected when we were children. I did not know that Babe Ruth drank until I was much older. Heck, I didn’t know Willie Mays was black. I am not sure that our “right to know” is such a good thing.

Comment by Sandy

I don’t think she will, Billy Ray will give her a good swift butt kicking if she even tries! 🙂

Comment by Claudia

aww that is sad for him to say. Our childrens role models are so pathetic today, they have nobody to look up to!

Comment by hazed

I hope she’s made of healthier stuff.
… we all have problems, most just don’t drown in them.

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

