A Day In The Life


Reading
January 5, 2008, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Books

I generally get a book or two for Christmas.  This year I must have really been good because I received four books which worked out well since I’ve been stuck at home more than normal over the break.  Plus we’ve had some really cold weather which is perfect for staying indoors and reading.   I’ll just go ahead and confess…..I’ve finished all four of the books.  I know.  I know.  You must think that all I’ve done is sit around and read, but I’ve done a lot of other things, too!  I read very fast and I do sit up late at night when I’m on break plus I don’t watch TV.  No satellite and no cable.  I don’t even have an antenna.  So, back to my books.

Three of them were great reads, but I was disappointed with No Time for Goodbye by Linwood Barclay.  Great story premise…..a fourteen-year old girl wakes up one morning in 1983 and her family is gone.  Vanished without a trace.  Fast forward twenty-five years and we find Cynthia married with a child of her own, but she is still haunted by the disappearance of her parents and brother.  She agrees to appear on an unsolved mysteries-type television show and the story, written from her husband’s point of view, takes off from there.  The first thing I didn’t care for was the language.  Virtually every character in the story cursed every time they opened their mouths.  Curse words generally don’t bother me when I’m highly involved in suspenseful action and the language ‘fits’ the story and characters, but Barclay overdid it.  There is such an overabundance of cursing in No Time for Goodbye that it felt false and was unpleasant to read.  Secondly, I didn’t like any of the characters with the exception of Cynthia’s eight-year old daughter, Grace, who was constantly checking the night skies with her telescope for asteroids.  I didn’t even feel a lot of sympathy for Cynthia.  She was too foul-mouthed and neurotic.  Finally, I found the storyline a bit too bizarre to be believable.  I read the book because I wanted to find out what happened to Cynthia’s original family, but people were getting killed, strange characters were popping up here and there and I kept thinking, “You’ve got to be kidding!” 

The three books I liked are Invisible Prey by John Sandford; The Book of the Dead by Patricia Cornwell; and Down River by John Hart.  I’ll review these titles in future posts. 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks so much for the review. I agree with you completely. I cannot read a book with an excess of superfluous profanity. I also confess that I cannot finish a book that has not been properly proofread. Spell check has ruined more books than not. I was reading a book the other day in which the main character referred to her soul reason for doing something. Yep, I was done. I did write a letter to the publisher, though.

Comment by Sandy

I enjoyed your review. I often have a hard time finishing a book if I don’t care for any of the characters. I remember reading Jurassic Park many years ago and rooting for the dinosaurs by the end due to the selfish nasty characters in the book!

I’ll check back for the other reviews. I like Patricia Cornwell but haven’t read that one yet.

Comment by Devon

Sounds like I need to catch up on Patricia Cornwell.

However, I’m all foul-mouthed and neurotic – how is it possible that we are friends?

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

