A Day In The Life


The Light
December 12, 2007, 10:11 pm
Filed under: School Buzz

I am finally catching a faint glimmer of light at the end of the holiday season school performance schedule.  I’m by no means finished with performances, but still, I can see that glow in the distance. 

We had a violent thunderstorm last night about an hour before the elementary choir concert was scheduled to begin.  I drove the 12 miles from my house to the auditorium dodging fallen limbs, fighting heavy wind, peering out my windshield through driving rain and praying that enough kids would show up to do justice to the music.  I was also listening to our local radio station as I traveled.  I wanted to know if there were any tornado warnings in the area.  It was amusing, to say the least, to hear the DJ telling me that the evening would be breezy with a chance of thunderstorms.  I mean, couldn’t the dude look out the window and amend the forecast based on what was actually happening outside?!!  This morning I heard that we had had winds in the 50-60 mph range.  And the lightning last night was incredible.  It lit up the entire sky. 

I was surprised to find people waiting for me to open the doors when I arrived at the auditorium an hour before show time.  We ended up with a standing room only crowd and very few absent singers.  The kids really out did themselves and put on an excellent show despite the inclement weather.  It was another magical evening of young voices singing beautiful music. 

casaballserious-large.jpg

These students make up my senior high auditioned groups, The Spotlight Singers and Sweet Harmony.   They sang Christmas carols outside our historic armory last Saturday night as guests arrived for a charity ball.

casaballgoofy-large.jpg

Here they are again acting goofy.   Or maybe I should say acting goofier.  You can certainly tell that my students never have any fun when we get together to sing.  🙂

Tomorrow this same group will be doing a program for the Rotarians during the noon hour then I have back to back rehearsals at the elementary school which will take up the entire afternoon.  My fifth grade choir will go over their music one more time before we make the trip to Little Rock on Friday to sing in the rotunda of the State Capitol.  And finally, the entire fifth grade ( around 150 kids ) will rehearse their Christmas musical.  The musical will be my next to last school performance of this year on Tuesday the 18th.  The final performance will be the high school choir singing the National Anthem at the basketball game on Friday the 21st.  Then I will be through the tunnel and into the glorious light of sweet freedom for two weeks!! 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Can’t wait to hear you all sing tomorrow!! What a treat! I’ll try to remember my camera.

Comment by Tiggerlane

wish I could come listen.
I remember how I used to enjoy singing in high school

Comment by Pamela

Gotta love it when they are waiting at the doors for ya! I’m sure I’ll experience that tonight. Everyone fights for the front row!

Comment by Suzy_Q

I can honestly say I miss being in High School this time of year. I enjoyed going to all the places and singing. My all-girls chorus would have about 2 performances a week in December, singing for a variety of groups all over town.

Comment by Karmyn R

Maybe you should do a Vlog so we can see and hear them!! Huh? I would love that.

Comment by gawilli

I wish I could hear the singing! Enjoy the weeks of freedom — you have earned them!!!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl




Leave a Reply

