A Day In The Life


Herstory
December 5, 2007, 9:25 pm
Filed under: Family, Life in the South, My Life

I am from music.  Rhythms, melodies and harmonies flow through my veins in a life-sustaining partnership that illuminates my soul.  Piano lessons, voice lessons, practice makes perfect, recitals, lift the soft palate, drop the jaw, curve your fingers and stand straight and tall.  Soft lullabies from my mother, watching Dad conduct the New York Philharmonic from a footstool in the living room, symphonies, operas and show tunes.  Jesus Loves Me, Christmas caroling, Sunday night singings, This Old Man, Elvis, Nat King Cole and Mahalia Jackson.  I am from music.

I am from faith.  Hellfire and brimstone from a circuit riding preacher who rode the dirt roads of Arkansas.  Spare the rod and spoil the child.  Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for Thou art with me.  Methodist.  Fourteen years perfect attendance in Sunday School, church camp, vacation Bible school, Bible Quiz Bowl champ.  I believe in miracles, the power of prayer and the redeeming grace of God.  Victory in Jesus, Sweet Hour of Prayer, Standing on the Promises and Leaning on the Everlasting Arms.  I am from faith.

I am from the South.  Humidity so thick you can cut it with a knife, kudzu, honeysuckle, watermelon and fried chicken.  Dogwoods blooming in the woods come spring.  Stately pine forests, gently rounded mountains and wide sluggish rivers with surprisingly treacherous undercurrents.  Dinner on the grounds after church, tent revivals, the graves of Confederate soldiers, gentility, graciousness and steel magnolias.  Setting on the porch, visitin’, sweet tea, homemade ice cream and catching lightning bugs in a fruit jar.  Honey, sugah, how ya’ll doin’, ya’ll come back and see us real soon.  I am from the South.

I am from the earth.  Rich, dark Southern soil.  Rocks and red clay.  Gardens big enough to support a small village.  String beans, corn, potatoes, tomatoes, peas, squash, okra, watermelons, onions, peppers.  Plowing behind a team of horses, hoes, rakes and freshly cut hay meadows.  Cows, horses, chickens and hogs.  Zinnias, marigolds, four o’clocks, tulips, daffodils, roses, poppies and wildflowers.  I am from the earth.

I am from James Buchanan, Mary Catherine, Charles Marion, Leva Ann, Walter Penn, Ava Bell, J.D. and Pearl.  I am the oldest child of Don and Cathy.  Preachers, carpenter, housewives, mechanic, salesman, farmers.  Mississippi plantation owners and senators, a minister newly arrived from Wales, outlaws in the Oklahoma Territory, and the Choctaw Nation.  I am from proud and independent people with a strong work ethic etched in the callouses of their hands. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love where you’re from, Songbird. This is so very beautiful.

Did you know I am from Charles Marion also? Charles Marion Spoon. He was my mama’s daddy.

Comment by gawilli

Beautifully written! I am reminded of a Jessica Andrews song – Who I Am. Very beautiful. Thank you.

Comment by Sandy

You did a great job with this meme.
It really caused me to know you better.

I have this one sitting in my to do/to write box for about six weeks. The darkness of winter has enveloped me.

Comment by Pamela

“outlaws in the Oklahoma Territory, and the Choctaw Nation.” one of the many favorite parts.

You really did a GREAT job with this MeMe!

Comment by barngoddess

Oh, so beautifully written. Fabulous post!!!!

I love this time of year, the music lifts my soul to another place! Do you have any christmas CD recommendations? I love my Libera CD, so I thought I would get your opinion on something seasonal!

Comment by Devon




Leave a Reply

