A Day In The Life


And We’re Off!
December 2, 2007, 9:35 pm
Filed under: School Buzz, Seasons

choirchristmas.jpg

Yes, it’s that singing time of year once more.  Don’t you just love it? I do!!  Our holiday performing season kicks off tomorrow night with a program for a community organization.  The third grade Harmony Stars and high school auditioned ensembles, The Spotlight Singers and Sweet Harmony, will be the featured singers.  Tuesday night is the annual high school and middle school choir concert.  Wednesday brings the fourth grade Harmony Stars performing at the senior center and Thursday night I will be a member of the audience at the high school and middle school band concert.  The high school choir will sing the National Anthem at the Friday night basketball game.  Saturday night I’ll be Christmas caroling with the high school auditioned ensembles.  We will be greeting the guests who arrive for a charity ball with songs of the season.  Sunday we will attend the stage production of High School Musical in Little Rock.  Add in all the day time rehearsals and preparations in the auditorium and it’s a very busy week.  But it’s fun and it’s festive and I’m ready!

The following week slows down a bit.  The elementary choir concert is Tuesday night and Wednesday we will begin on stage rehearsals for the fifth grade Christmas musical.  We have a program for the Rotary club on Thursday and Friday I will journey with my 42-member fifth grade choir to Little Rock where they will perform a 20-minute program in the rotunda of the state capitol.  Throw in a couple of church Christmas eve program rehearsals and the second week of December is complete.

The third week of December brings the fifth grade Christmas musical performance on Tuesday.  Then I can collapse and start planning for spring!  Well, I really can’t collapse because I still have that Christmas eve program at church to prepare for, but things will definitely be slowed down when the school performances are over and done. 

Here’s hoping your holiday season gets off to a joyous and song-filled start!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

deep breaths… (I’m talking about me after reading your schedule!)

Comment by Pamela

On the first day of Christmas (that would be the 26th, as I’m sure you know) my true love gave to me…time to just be me.

Never said I was a lyricist but I do love going to musical programs this time of year!

Comment by Sandy

My son is taking piano lessons from his music teacher – she only has ONE school to deal with and is stressing out about the program. I can’t imagine how busy it is for you.

Comment by Karmyn R

Oh to hear those voices!!!!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

My daughter just performed in her band Christmas concert. My son will perform Friday in his choir.

You are either very energetic and love your job or you are nuts. I can tell you love your job 😉

Comment by Debbie




Leave a Reply

