A Day In The Life


Hit the Road, Jack
November 20, 2007, 10:46 pm
Filed under: Jasper, Life in the South

I live on a dirt road. Not gravel, not crushed rock. Dirt.  Luckily, I have a long drive way.  My house sits off the beaten path completely surrounded by woods.  I say ‘luckily’ because the road I live on is what is known in these parts as a ‘beer joint road’.  It is a back way connection from the highway in a dry county in Arkansas to the beer joints just across the line in Oklahoma.  Now we don’t need traffic lights out here in the sticks yet, but we do get a little busy on the weekends.  People who live in the edge of Oklahoma also use the road as a short cut to get to the nearest town of any size.  And there are drivers who find my road convenient because they don’t have insurance or because their vehicles are in such a state of disrepair that they try to avoid state highways.  Then there are people, like me, who live out here in the country and use the road because it is the only way to get from here to there, wherever there may be. 

Jasper and I walk the road almost every day.  Usually late in the afternoon or early evening.  I put his harness on his little 10-pound body, snap on the leash and off we go.  Jasper likes to step lively and on some days I am practically jogging to keep up with his pace. 

As we walk, we meet the people who, for whatever reasons, are driving on our road.  Now I know just about everyone who lives on this road and if a neighbor drives by us they usually stop and speak.  At the very least, the people who know Jasper and me, slow down as they wave and pass us by.  I consider the fact that they slow a down an act of courtesy rather than neighborliness.  When conditions are dry, as they are now, the dust from a passing vehicle is awful.  So slowing down to keep the dust from enveloping us is a very nice thing to do.  

What never ceases to surprise me are the people I don’t know who either slow down and speak from a rolled down window as they drive by or stop altogether and talk for a bit.  Most of these people are men.  And most of these men are….well, scruffy looking to say the least.  Maybe they are loggers or laborers of some other type.  I really don’t know.  I can tell you that they aren’t being friendly because I’m a woman walking alone on a road in the middle of nowhere.  I know this because invariably these men talk about Jasper.  They tell me he is a good looking little hound.  They ask how old he is and how much he weighs.  One bearded man with very few teeth, grinned and said Jasper sure was “a cute little feller.” 

diggingjasper.jpg

runningjasper.jpg

I have to agree.  Jasper is a mighty “cute little feller” even though I can’t get him to sit still for a picture!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I love small towns (or no towns)! I love dogs! I love gentlemen, however they look! Great post.

Comment by Sandy

I thought walking with your dog was a sure way to pick up guys. I think you are missing an opportunity, here!

Scruffy guys can be nice, too. Why, look how scruffy Matthew is!

Comment by Tiggerlane

He IS a cute little fella! Great post.

Comment by giveitatry

It is amazing how no matter where you live, people are more likely to talk to you when you are walking a dog. I walked my 2 kids in a stroller for a few years. As soon as I added a dog to the walk people came out and said hello. What is it about the fur babies that makes people friendly? Enjoy the walks — Jasper is a doll!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

I absolutely adore Jasper… what a sweetie!!

Comment by Jodi

If you love animals, you have got to be all right! He sure is a cutie.

Comment by gawilli

jasper is VERY handsome!!

Weenie dogs are the BEST dog ever. I miss our little Elvis so much 😦

But, my best friend just had 2 new litters. She has all of them sold already except for a little blk/wht piebald female she wants me to have…I am just not sure we are ready for another dog yet!

When you are out walking, do you carry mace or some protection?

I know weenie dogs are great protectors but still…they arent very big. Sorry to be so negative but coming from a family of Law Enforcement and working as a deputy for a few years, my mind works this way…

I LOVE small towns! they are the best. Arkansas is a great state too, Ive only been to visit once at Eureka Springs. I want to go back soon!

Comment by barngoddess

What a cute story…and of course you know that Jasper is a cutie too!

Comment by Susan

One of my customers brings his dog in to see me — he calls the little guy his “chick magnet.” His wife died just over a year ago..so, it’s good to see him having some light hearted fun with his dog.

So, just be careful with your uh… “hunk magnet.” Some of those guys sound a little scary.

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

