A Day In The Life


Musical Memories
November 12, 2007, 9:39 pm
Filed under: Music

While visiting Hootin’ Anni’s place tonight, I caught her “Ten on Tuesday” post of ten songs that bring back memories and why.  Talking about music is just too hard for me to resist so even though I’m not a regular “Ten on Tuesday” participant, I’m going with this week’s topic.

1.   ‘Let’s Go Fly A Kite’ from Mary Poppins

This may not be the most popular or well-known song from Mary Poppins, but it holds special meaning for me because it is the first song I ever sang as a soloist in a talent show.

2.   ‘Love Me Tender’ by Elvis Presley

This is the song I was supposed to sing in my sister’s wedding while she and her almost husband gazed into each other’s eyes with love and adoration.  I made the mistake of gazing at the happy couple and ended up sobbing, crying, weeping throughout the entire song.  If I remember correctly the only part of the song that actually sounded like music was the opening phrase, “Love me tender, love me true…..”.  It went downhill from there.   It’s a beautiful song, but I still get that little sharp jab of embarrassment in the pit of my stomach whenever I hear it. 

3.   ‘Color My World’ by Chicago

I was in love as only a teenager can be in love and this was “our song”.  Each time I hear it memories of all the pain, drama and angst of young love floods through my being.   Then I bow my head and thank the good Lord above that I didn’t end up married to that guy!

4.   ‘Victory in Jesus’

This song brings back memories of Sunday night singing services at church.  I played the piano and someone always requested ‘Victory in Jesus’.  The song has a lot of high notes in the chorus and the sopranos in the  congregation really raised their voices when they sang it so I had to play the piano twice as loudly as normal.  I can close my eyes and still see and hear all those fine ladies even though they now are all singing with the heavenly chorus. 

5.   ‘Yummy, Yummy, Yummy (I’ve Got Love in my Tummy)’ by 1910 Fruitgum Company

The first 45 rpm I owned.  I can still sing the entire song.

6.   ‘Your Mother and Mine’ by Doris Day  

“The angel voice that bids you goodnight, kisses your cheek, whispers sleep tight, your mother and mine……”  Mom sang this lovely song  hundreds of times as she tucked me into bed.  Just remembering the words makes me feel warm, safe and loved.

7.   ‘Sabre Dance’ from Gayane by Aram Khachaturian

We had this piece on an album of classical music compiled and sold by Reader’s Digest.  Dad used to stand on the footstool in the living room and conduct the orchestra.  I didn’t realize how much my dad had dreamed of becoming a conductor until I was in my 30’s.  In one of the last conversations we had before Dad died, he told me how happy he was that I had made his dream a reality. 

8.   ‘Ode to Billy Joe’ by Bobbie Gentry

My cousins and I used to pretend we were rock stars while we played in Granny’s attic.  ‘Ode to Billy Joe’ is the song I performed most often with my hairbrush microphone.

9.   ‘Tara’s Theme’ from Gone With the Wind

Oh, the bliss of this piece of music!  “I’ll think of it all tomorrow, at Tara.  I can stand it then.  Tomorrow I’ll think of some way to get him back.  After all, tomorrow is another day.”

10.  ‘Carol of the Bells’ by Leontovich

One of the most perfect Christmas carols ever written.  No matter how many times I hear it, perform it or have my students perform it, I never tire of this song.  I remember singing it with several different choirs and one year I performed it as a member of a handbell choir.  It was and is a magical piece of holiday music.   

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Thanks so much for sharing. I don’t believe that I’ve ever seen “yummy, yummy, yummy” on anyone else’s list! I am smiling.

Comment by Sandy

‘Love Me Tender’ by Elvis Presley

is our song too! (my hubs and I) he picked it out when we got married.

Comment by barngoddess

I love this idea! I started a post like this but sidetracked big time! You should hear our Praise Team do Victory in Jesus – boy does it rock! I would love to hear you play the piano.

Comment by gawilli




Leave a Reply

