A Day In The Life


Long Road Out of Eden
November 6, 2007, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Music

longroadoutofeden.jpg

I’ve spent the last three days immersed in the Eagles’ new release Long Road Out of Eden.  I admit I was a little hesitant to purchase the CD because I had been hearing one of the songs on our local country station and, quite frankly, I wasn’t too impressed.  Air time on country radio isn’t a strong selling point with me.  Let me clarify that….air time on the local country station isn’t a strong selling point.  Our station is so mainstream conservative that listeners rarely hear the few country artists that I really like.  Even Dwight Yoakam doesn’t make the local play list too often if that tells you anything.  So I was concerned when I kept hearing “How Long” by the Eagles in the line up with school lunch menus and the local police report.  To add to my angst, several people had mentioned to me that the Eagles had moved to the country genre and Tiggerlane told me they were headlining the Country Music Awards.  It was with some trepidation that I made my purchase, but I needn’t have worried.

There is something for every listener on this two CD set.  A little country, a little rhythm and blues, some almost reggae and, most of all, loads of great rock ‘n roll music as only the Eagles can offer.  Don Henley and Glenn Frey have not moved to the conservative right.  Their lyrics are politically powerful and thought-provoking.  And Henley is as environmentally-conscious as he ever was.  From the opening track, “No More Walks in the Wood,” to the plaintive instrumental, “I Dreamed There Was No War,” to the powerful  title track flavored with middle-eastern instrumental riffs, this latest offering from the Eagles  proves that this group can go their separate ways then reunite without missing a beat.  The music is solid.  The harmonies are tight.  The lyrics are vastly appropriate for the times we are living in. 

eaglesbacks.jpg

Long Road Out of Eden
Moon shining down through the palms * Shadows moving on the sand * Somebody whispering the Twenty-third Psalm * Dusty rifle in his trembling hands * Somebody trying just to stay alive * He got promises to keep * Over the ocean in America * Far away and fast asleep *** Silent stars blinking in the blackness of an endless sky * Cold silver satellites, ghostly caravans passing by * Galaxies unfolding; new worlds being born * Pilgrims and prodigals creeping toward the dawn * But it’s a long road out of Eden *** Music blasting from an SUV * On a bright and sunny day * Rolling down the interstate * In the good ol’ USA * Having lunch at the Petroleum Club * Smokin’ fine cigars and swappin’ lies * “Gimme ‘nother slice o’ that barbecued brisket!” * “Gimme ‘nother piece o’ that pecan pie!” *** Freeways flickering, cell phones chiming a tune * We’re riding to Utopia; road map says we’ll be arriving soon * Captains of the Old Order clinging to the reins * Assuring us these aches inside are only growing pains * But it’s a long road out of Eden *** Back home I was so certain * The path was very clear * But now I have to wonder: What are we doing here? * I’m not counting on tomorrow * And I can’t tell wrong from right * But I’d give anything to be there in your arms tonight *** Weaving down the American highway * Through the litter and the wreckage and the cultural junk * Bloated with entitlement; loaded on propaganda * And now we’re driving dazed and drunk * Been down the road to Damascus, the road to Mandalay * Met the ghost of Caesar on the Appian Way * He said, “It’s hard to stop this bingeing, once you get a taste.” * “But the road to Empire is a bloody, stupid waste.” *** Behold the bitten apple * The power of the tools * But all the knowledge in the world is of no use to fools * And it’s a long road out of Eden

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I heard them talking about it on the radio prog that I listen to while I’m blogging. The couple of tracks I heard sounded good.

Comment by chrisb

It’s always with trepidation that one approaches a long-awaited offering from heroes of another era. I haven’t heard this yet, But I imagine it would take a consideable amount of negative effort for Messrs Walsh, Henley et al to make a bad album.
When your old heroes deliver the goods, its a sweet thing indeed, such as when Aerosmith emerged from their drug and alcohol lost years to deliver “Permanent Vacation”. It feels damn good!

Comment by kevmoore

It’s good to know they haven’t “sold Out” or turned from their roots then.

Comment by Karmyn R

You ARE going to let me borrow this, right? 🙂

I’m anxious to hear it – may get impatient and have to download the thing on iTunes.

Comment by Tiggerlane

My friend just saw them in Los Angeles with the Dixie Chicks opening. It was outstanding I am told. I had not picked it up yet as the jury was still out and am glad to read your review. Like you, I am an Eagles fan from back in the day. How is Timothy B. Schmit on this one? I always loved his voice from when he was in Poco and then moved on to the Eagles. Guess I will head on over to Borders!

Comment by gawilli

BTW – I like the new design! For some reason, your old one really messed up when I used AOL to access it. Now, all is well!

Comment by Tiggerlane

Thanks for the review, I’ll have to buy this. I love the Eagles and have seen them live 3 times – fantastic!

Comment by theotherbear

Songbird,
Your blog has an interesting, bold new look. The title is very intriguing considering all the 80’s conjecture about Hotel California. However, I like the Eagles and will try to pick-up the set.

Comment by mjd

I like the Eagles! I may have to buy this new CD……

Comment by barngoddess

I like the Eagles. 😀

Comment by Debbie

my husband asked since when have Eagles been country. i was like. weren’t they always? i mean country artists keep stealing their songs and making big bucks.. and the older tunes seem kinda country to me.. so um.. yeah. anyway, who cares. they rock!

Comment by jill

[…] how good it is. Arkansas Songbird, if you are reading this, I know you are going to say “I told you so“. But honestly, I had no idea. Really. These guys are old. They’re older than me. How […]

Pingback by 28 Years « Back in the Day




Leave a Reply

