A Day In The Life


Holiday Traditions
November 4, 2007, 10:25 pm
Filed under: Family, Seasons

Humph! I can’t get any pictures to upload tonight so you’ll have to use your imaginations.

(picture of choir at Christmas concert)

Singing has always been a part of my holiday traditions. Mom and Dad had quite a collection of Christmas LP’s that received heavy play throughout the holiday season. We sang Christmas carols around the piano and the church youth group always went caroling through the small town where our church was located. For the past seventeen years, my students have added to my Christmas musical tradition with their lovely voices.

(picture of my nieces with large, live, decorated tree and loads of gifts)

My family has always opened gifts early in the morning on Christmas Day. When my brother, sister and I were much younger, my parents would leave at least one gift unwrapped. That item was the ‘special’ gift we received directly from Santa’s sleigh. It was also the most difficult gift to wrap or something that had to be assembled, but we never thought about that fact when we were kids. This special time on Christmas morning was and still is the only time during the day devoted exclusively to the immediate family. The rest of the day was spent with cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents. We still gather at Mom’s house and follow these same traditions.

(picture of me with my nieces in front of Christmas tree after opening gifts)

At some point when I was in high school, I discovered that I loved to cook and began preparing a large Christmas Eve dinner for my family. It was the one time during the year that Mom turned her kitchen completely over to me and let me create whatever culinary masterpieces I came up with. I continue this tradition in my own home and my family still dutifully eats whatever I put in front of them. They have commented that my menus have improved since my teenaged cooking years.

Well, I’m totally bummed about not having any pictures. This post is definitely lacking because of it. I’ll leave you with a good holiday recipe and hope the picture loading problem is solved soon.

Applesauce Souffle

NOTE: This dish is not really a souffle in the traditional sense. I got the recipe from a friend and ‘applesauce souffle’ is what she called it. It is a great side dish served with ham, turkey or chicken.

One large can or jar of applesauce (I use the natural kind without added sugar)
Three-fourths cup sugar
One-half cup butter, melted
Two eggs
One cup milk
Two cups crushed vanilla wafers

Preheat oven to 350-degrees. Combine all ingredients except vanilla wafers. Beat with a wire whisk until well-blended. Gently fold in crushed vanilla wafers. Bake in 350-degree oven for 35-45 minutes or until set.

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That applesauce souffle sounds interesting. I think I might try that as I have plenty of apple to make my own sauce.

Comment by chrisb

the souffle is something I must try!!!!

And Matthew?!! Below?? BE STILL my HEART

Comment by Hootin' Anni

OH MY This looks sooooo good!

Not as goos as Matthew, but still good.

Comment by Debbie

You made me remember that we always go cut down our tree. I wish had remembered to say that. 😦

And Matthew distracted me too – how could you?

Comment by Lisa's Chaos

Another recipe I must try! Thanks. Sorry your pictures didn’t download!

Comment by Sandy

I do the same thing for Amber’s big “Santa” gift – I have a red, velvet bow that goes on that gift, and it is left unwrapped.

AAARRGGHH!! I hope I remember all these recipe posts, once I have a working oven again!

Comment by Tiggerlane

The applesauce souffle sounds good. Singing is a good tradition.

Comment by Karmyn R

The applesauce souffle sounds good. Singing is a good tradition.

Comment by Karmyn R

Sorry your pictures wouldn’t cooperate. I can’t decide who was more brave – you as a teenager deciding to cook or your mom stepping aside and letting you. 🙂

Comment by Ann

I can’t imagine my mother ever turning her kitchen over to me. We had Christmas here two years ago & I ordered Luby’s.

Matthew McC was my brother’s next-door neighbor in college. My bro thought he was a loser for majoring in drama. Guess who had the last laugh!!

Comment by Anglophile Football Fanatic

They are so cute and that does look delish!

I hate it when the pictures won’t cooperate.

Comment by giveitatry

Nice pictures. You know…that black one…

Comment by Susan

I think that you are the first person that has mentioned music as part of their Christmas tradition. Although I am not a musical person, I have enjoyed the times that I have gone caroling, and I enjoy singing the carols at church. Furthermore, our church started a tradition of a benefit concert to raise money for our Coats for Kids giveaway.

Comment by mjd

The souffle sounds interesting. I might have to try this!

Comment by theotherbear




Leave a Reply

