A Day In The Life


Happy Haunting!
October 30, 2007, 9:28 pm
Filed under: Family, Life in the South

My family has always celebrated Halloween with costumes, popcorn balls, caramel apples and loads of other goodies and good times. Even though we lived in the boonies, my parents took us trick or treating to a few houses in our very rural neighborhood. The thing I remember most is that country neighbors generally gave out homemade treats which were so much yummier than store bought candy.   As we grew older, we usually had Halloween hayrides and hot dog roasts.  And, of course, lots of ghost stories. 

My nieces were born in 1994 and 1996.  My sister carried on our family traditions with her daughters as long as they lived in the little town where my sister and I grew up.  I had such fun going trick or treating with the girls.  MC and HM are all older now and they no longer live where I do.  I miss their cute, little girl costumes and all the Halloween fun and excitement I shared with them. 

halloweenhug.jpg

This is MC and HM in their Halloween finery in 2000.  Most of the time their costumes were handmade or put together from thrift shop finds, but HM saw this “50’s girl” outfit in Walmart and she just had to have it.   My sister tried to talk her out of it because it doesn’t even really look like something from the 50’s, but HM couldn’t be persuaded.  A pink satin poodle skirt trimmed in feathers with a sheer feather-trimmed top just made her little 4-year old heart go pitter patter.  MC wanted to be a “blues brother” although I don’t remember how a 6-year old knew what a “blues brother” was.  Surely she hadn’t seen the movie.

bluesbro.jpg

Isn’t she too cute for words?!!! I’m not sure what the significance of the arm and hand positioning is, but…….

fiftiesgirl.jpg

whatever big sister did, little sister had to imitate.  Awwww…. she’s such a cutie, too!

toocoolforhalloween.jpg

Happy Halloween!!!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

They are so sweet. Happy Halloween.

Comment by chrisb

Happy Hallowe’en!

Comment by Sandy

I love them, soooo cooool!

Comment by beccy

Great pics. 🙂

My Thing 1 and Thing 2 were born in 1994 and 1996. They grow up fast.

Happy Halloween.

Comment by Debbie

They are cute –

Blues Brothers? Too funny.

Comment by Karmyn R

There is a poodle there for sure… but I suspect the marketers knew they had to have the satin and foo foo to attract the little girls.

We made cupcakes etc. for Halloween. That was back when we knew our neighbors and we probably only had 10 trickers at most.

Comment by Pamela

Too cute! Mine always just looks one step away from a prostitute now that she’s older. I’ll have to dig up the old, cute costume photos.

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

