A Day In The Life


Horn of the Moon Cookbook
October 18, 2007, 6:32 pm
Filed under: Food, Travel

Although I am not a vegetarian, one of my favorite and most used cookbooks is “The Horn of the Moon Cookbook” written by Ginny Callan.  The book is full of the delicious offerings Callan served at her Horn of the Moon Cafe in Montpelier, Vermont.  I always meant to eat at the Horn of the Moon when vacationing in Vermont, but I never did.  Callan sold the Horn of the Moon Cafe  in 1990, however she is still writing cookbooks.

I don’t know about you, but I can make a meal out of a potato.  I am constantly experimenting with new toppings for baked potatoes.  I also try many different ingredients for potato casseroles, mashed potatoes and stuffed potatoes.  However, one of my very favorite recipes for baked stuffed potatoes is not an original.   It is found on page 176 in the “Horn of the Moon Cookbook”. 

Baked Stuffed Potatoes

4 medium to large baking potatoes
1 cup chopped broccoli, stems and florets
3 tablespoons butter
1 cup sliced and slightly chopped mushrooms
6 scallions, chopped
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar cheese
1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
Paprika

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Bake potatoes on cookie sheet until tender when pierced with a fork (approximately 1 to 1 1/4 hours).

In a 10-inch fry pan saute’ the broccoli in 1 tablespoon butter over medium heat. When it just begins to get tender, add mushrooms and saute’ until lightly done. Drain if needed.

Cut the top off each potato so that the insides can easily be scooped out, cutting off just the skin layer. While holding potato with pot holder, carefully scoop out insides and put into medium-sized bowl. Mash with remaining 2 tablespoons butter. Lower oven temperature to 400 degrees. Add scallions, sauteed vegetables, sour cream, cheese, parsley, salt, and pepper to mashed potatoes and mix well. Fill potato shells with this mixture. Sprinkle top of each potato with paprika. Yes, they will be overflowing with filling and delicious. Bake 15 minutes more and serve.

This is just one of many yummy and easy-to-prepare recipes from the “Horn of the Moon Cookbook”.  The book contains an array of recipes including breakfast dishes, soups, salads, simple meals, main courses, and desserts.  There are some really good vegetarian Mexican recipes and some excellent crepes.  The Avocado Cheese Crepes are yummy!  The desserts section includes pies, cakes, brownies, strudels, crisps and cookies. 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

O.K., that sounds pretty yummy. I just bought a bag of potatoes, getting ready for the winter eatting season!

Comment by Devon

I could live off potato.

Comment by Pamela

I am w/ Pamela, we LOVE taters out here too.

all kinds of them!

Comment by barngoddess

Thanks for solving my “what am I gonna cook for dinner” dilemma. I think I even have some leftover chili for hubby’s.

Comment by Sandy

I will have to wait to try this one – the “preheat oven” part got me. No working oven…yet!

Comment by Tiggerlane

Huh, we haven’t had taters in a while…I’ve been so busy focusing on getting the leafy greens in that I kinda forgot about them. Talk about being single-minded! lol

Comment by Susan

That sounds delicious. I’m going to copy this recipe if you don’t mind, and add it to my list of things to cook!

Comment by theotherbear

I totally loved that film.. brilliant!

Comment by Tonya

umm wrong thread… lol I totally love the film above… lol

Comment by Tonya




Leave a Reply

