A Day In The Life


The View
October 17, 2007, 10:58 am
Filed under: My Life, Travel

Random scenes from my life…..places I’ve lived…..places I’ve visited…..things I’ve seen……

Fayetteville, Arkansas, from Mt. Sequoyah in October 1981

fayetteville1.jpg

I was one of those students who couldn’t decide where to go to college. First it was to Louisiana, then Colorado, but I ended up at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.  I finished my degree there in 1983. 

Stained glass window, November 1980

stainedglass.jpg

The only thing written on the back of this photo is ‘stained glass window’. Duh….I can see that, but where is the window located?!!! I visited the National Cathedral in Washington D.C. and the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City on my trip so the window is in one of those architectural wonders.

 

The Lincoln Memorial, Washington D.C., November 1980

lincolnmemorial.jpg

I always liked the lighting in this shot and the fact that I could actually read the inscription from the photograph. 

 

Wildflowers along the shore of Lake Champlain, New York, October 1988

wildflwrslakechamplain.jpg

It was very cold and windy on the day I took this picture.  My parents and I were on a New England vacation together. 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The last picture is particularly beautiful. The flora obscuring certain parts of the view lends a sense of mystery that I think it fundamental to beauty.

Comment by Micah Tillman

I always find the notes on the backs of my pictures particularly unhelpful. I can sympathize. I evidently can’t change, ’cause I still write stupid things, but I can sympathize.

Comment by Sandy

The Lincoln Memorial was one place that moved me to tears (even more than the Vietnam Memorial – how kooky is that?)

Comment by Karmyn R

Bizarre – thinking of Karmyn’s comment. I only felt emotion outside the Lincoln Memorial, b/c that’s where the veterans were selling their symbols and patches to fellow veterans. Other than that, the Vietnam memorial made me bawl.

Comment by Tiggerlane

It’s lovely to go travelling through other people’s photos.

Comment by chrisb

Left you a little something over at my place. Thanks for posting such thought-inspiring pics today.

Comment by Sandy




Leave a Reply

