A Day In The Life


Convenience Charge
October 9, 2007, 9:52 pm
Filed under: Music, My Life

Ok, I’ll admit that I haven’t been to a concert in an arena or stadium venue since I saw the Eagles in the late 90’s on their Hell Freezes Over concert tour.  And I didn’t buy my ticket for that concert.  My brother bought tickets for my sister and me and told us that was our birthday gift for the year.  Great gift, great concert and a funny story that I must remember to share at a later date. 

In the past ten years or so, I’ve purchased tickets for quite a few symphony, opera and Broadway musical performances.  I noted the advertised ticket prices, looked at the auditorium seating plan and made a purchase decision based on what I wanted to pay and where I wanted to sit.   Today I had a whole new ticket purchase experience.

My brother and I decided we wanted to see the Trans-Siberian Orchestra concert on December 29 in North Little Rock’s Alltel Arena.   Advertised ticket prices were $30, $40 and $50.  The $40 lower-level tickets were our choice as opposed to the $50 floor or $30 upper-level offerings.  When the ticket purchasing transaction was complete, I had spent a total of $108.10 or $54.05 per ticket.  Each $40 ticket had a $9.60 convenience charge plus a $2.75 facility charge and, of course, there was a $3.40 order processing fee.  My question is:  what exactly is a convenience charge?  Does this mean we have valet parking at the arena?  Does it mean that our seats will be liberally padded and comfortable?  Does it mean we will have wine and hors d’oeuvres served during the concert?  Or does this convenience charge simply mean that we will have free access to the restrooms if the need arises?  If I don’t pay the convenience charge and the facility charge will my brother and I have to stand outside near an open doorway to get the full worth of our $40 tickets?  Sigh……I guess I should get out more.

Regardless, I am excited about seeing the Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  If you are unfamiliar with their music, you should visit their web site.  Click on discography and you can listen to many of their musical offerings.  I love the way they incorporate their music into complete stories which are included with their CD’s.  They also use children’s choirs in some of their songs.  I highly recommend listening to “Christmas Canon” from The Christmas Attic CD.  Absolutely beautiful!  Another of my favorites is “Boughs of Holly” from the same CD. 

xmasattic-cover.jpg xmaseve-cover.jpg

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t understand the pricing either but I DO understand wanting to see TSO. They were supposed to play in Amarillo last year but decided that the acoustics in the brand new center for the performing arts were not up to their standards. I noticed this weekend that they are playing in Lubbock this year but still not Amarillo. Guess I’ll be going there!

Comment by Sandy

Sounds like a great concert.

I remember paying $50 for a Sting Concert in 1992 and FREAKING OUT at the price. Now days I’d LOVE to pay that much.

The last Rock Concert I went to was Billy Joel/Elton John (2001) – it was amazing and worth the $80/ticket price. now I’m too cheap because I’d have to hire a babysitter too.

Comment by Karmyn R

Apparently, the extra charge is a very “convenient” way to gouge the customers. I would question it, probably in a letter to the editor of the DOG (Democrat-Gazette). But, then, I’m an old rabblerouser from way back.

Comment by Betty

It’s like the “handling” part of the “shipping and handling” charge. But those are still pretty inexpensive tickets for what is bound to be an AWESOME show! I wanted to see Blue Man Group when they came, but couldn’t get tickets for less than $75…and it was in January, after the Christmas money drain.

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

