A Day In The Life


Slow Down
September 25, 2007, 6:46 pm
Filed under: Music, Seasons

I first heard this beautiful song at a workshop I attended last July.  I loved the lyrics and the melody is one that stays in my mind long after the song has ended.  I purchased copies of “Slow Down” for my senior high choir to perform at our Christmas concert.  We began working on it yesterday.  I was thrilled to hear my students sounding just as I had imagined they would.  We are no where near the mastery level on this particular piece, but it will be a stunning addition to the concert when we do have it completely learned.  I wish you could hear my students performing the song, but as a poor substitute you can listen to “Slow Down” at this link .  The lyrics are printed below.

Slow down your hurried footsteps, put away the needless haste.
Forget meaningless token sentiments that seem an utter waste.
Slow down the flow of superficial thoughts that flutter through your mind.
Slow down, slow down, slow down.
Let your mind translate the meaning, let your soul know the pain.
Let your eyes see the beauty, let your ears hear the music.
Let your hands fold in prayer, let your heart rejoice with love.
Let your being know the peace of long ago when the Baby Jesus was born.
Slow down, slow down, slow down.
Slow down, slow down, slow down.
Let your mind translate the meaning, let your soul know the pain.
Let your eyes see the beauty, let your ears hear the music.
Let your hands fold in prayer, let your heart rejoice with love.
Let your being know the peace of long ago when the Baby Jesus was born.
Slow down, slow down, slow down.
Slow down and take the time to know what living means.

Words by Nancy Bernreuther
Music by Will Schmid

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is just gorgeous. Thank you for the link – I just sent it to the music minister at my Church. Thanks for spreading the sonshine.

Comment by Sandy

I LOVE this!!!!! It is so beautiful. I really hope you can find a way to record your students singing this! 🙂

Love this song!

Comment by Debbie

that is a beautiful song in verse and melody
… yes. record it and play it at christmas on your blog

Comment by Pamela

wow-beautiful! The melody has me…….

Comment by barngoddess

Ok I had to listen to the song again. 🙂

I really do love this song! Did I mention that I loved this song? Well, let me tell you…I love it. 🙂 *LOL*

Comment by Debbie




Leave a Reply

