A Day In The Life


Mmmmm…Mmmmm Good
September 23, 2007, 6:39 pm
Filed under: Food

I love to cook so there was no way I could narrow our Fun Monday assignment to just one favorite recipe.  In fact, I had a hard time choosing only two recipes.  My choices are a pasta dish that is a personal favorite and a dessert that I am constantly requested to bring to church and school potlucks and family dinners.  Sorry there are no pictures, but….all together now…..I don’t have a digital camera!! 

Spaghetti Carbonara

One 16-oz. package spaghetti
Eight slices of bacon
One pound pork sausage or one pound sweet Italian sausage
Three cloves garlic, minced
Three Tablespoons minced parsley
Three tomatoes, peeled and chopped or one 16-oz. can tomatoes, drained
Two eggs, slightly beaten
Three-fourths cup grated Parmesan cheese
One-half cup cream
Pepper, ground nutmeg and basil to taste

Cook spaghetti according to package instructions. In a large skillet, cook bacon until crisp. Crumble and set aside. Drain fat from skillet.
Add sausage, garlic, and parsley to skillet and cook until sausage is done. (If using Italian sausage links, break the links into bite-size pieces before cooking.)
Stir tomatoes and reserved bacon crumbles into sausage mixture.
Mix sausage mixture with spaghetti.
Quickly scramble eggs then mix eggs, cream and remaining ingredients to spaghetti mixture. Toss lightly.

I serve this dish with a tossed garden salad and warm, crusty Italian bread.  

Lemon Lush

Three-fourths cup butter, softened
One and one-half cups flour
One-half cup pecans, chopped
Eight ounce package of cream cheese
Two 8-ounce containers of whipped topping
One cup powdered sugar
Three 3-oz. packages instant lemon pudding
Four and one-half cups milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Mix together butter, flour and pecans. Spread this mixture on bottom of a 9 x 13-inch pan.
Bake for exactly 10 minutes. (It won’t be very brown, but that’s a good thing.)
Allow crust to cool.
Cream together cream cheese, powdered sugar and one container of the whipped topping. Spread this mixture over the cooled crust.
Mix the lemon pudding and the milk. Pour this mixture on top of the cream cheese layer.
After the pudding sets, spread the other container of whipped topping on top of the lemon layer.

I sprinkle another half cup of chopped pecans on top of the finished dessert.  

Check out The Food Snob for more recipes!!!

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A dish called Lemon Lush has to be tasty. Imagine what a feast we would have if all of the bloggers could have a potluck bringing these Fun Monday delights.

Comment by mjd

Those dishes sound great. Amazing how many different versions of spaghetti carbonara there are – mine just has pancetta and egg and pepper and spaghetti in it!
mjd – a Pot Luck with all these dishes – brilliant idea.

Comment by theotherbear

I gained three pounds just reading the recipes! They both sound really good. My list of new recipes to try is sure getting long…..

Comment by Blue Momma

OH man – I think I like them both. Lemon lush sounds heavenly. (I LOVE lemon desserts!)

Comment by Karmyn R

Damn, my mouth is watering!!!

Comment by Willowtree

Oh man, it’s 2:00am and I want to eat something now. Not good! I’m printing these both out!

Comment by Joy T.

Oh these sound delicious. I can not wait to try these out for the family.

Comment by Debbie

Lemon Lush, oh, my! I love lemon desserts, too!
(Thanks for posting.)

Comment by Lisa

Love this recipe, I make a mean ravioli carbonar as well…

Comment by A Family Story

I love lemon desserts and this one just sounds delectable!! I can’t wait to try it! I also Love Spaghetti Carbonara, I have never tried it with Italian sausage just the bacon.Thank you for sharing!!!!

Comment by Kaytabug

These look wonderful!! I will definitely be trying them, thanks!

Comment by happyworkingmom

Yep, I’m drooling! It’s proably a good thing there are no pictures to go along with the descrption!

Comment by Susan

I’m thinking a Lemon Lush sounds really good right about now.

Comment by Anglophile Football Fanatic

They both sound good to me! Some of my favorite ingredients in both. Its probably better that way…

Comment by gawilli

They both sound wonderful, especially the second one! I’ll have to try it–sounds different from any I’ve had!

Comment by momto3cubs

I’ve already copied and pasted in my computer recipe page

I won’t ever be able to hold my belly in again.

Comment by Pamela

I love anything lemony so I think I would love your ‘lemon lush’ 🙂

Comment by chrisb




Leave a Reply

