A Day In The Life


Life is Precious
September 10, 2007, 10:19 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

The year 2001 was not an especially pleasant year in my life.   In March, a man I loved and trusted with all my heart, the man I thought I would spend the rest of my life with, abruptly ended our relationship without explanation.  In April, my dad passed away after a long battle with emphysema.  In June, my dear feline friend and companion, Rudy, died after having been a part of my life for 17 years.  Then, in September, just when life was feeling a bit more positive, when grief was slightly less raw, when smiles were more prevalent and laughter spilled easier from my wounded heart, the world as I knew it changed in a more horrible way than I could ever have imagined. 

manhattanskyline473.jpg

To this day, when I gaze at this photo  of the Manhattan skyline that I took in 1970-something or when I catch a glimpse of this same skyline in some movie I’m watching, I still feel that gut-wrenching sense of disbelief that I felt on September 11, 2001, when a fellow teacher pulled me from my sixth grade music class to the hall and told me that two planes had crashed into the World Trade Center towers.

My personal losses, though heartfelt and painful, paled in the sheer magnitude of the losses sustained in Manhattan, Washington DC and in a lonely field in Pennsylvania.  The sorrow and fears of millions of people brought a new perspective to my life.  I could not help but compare the events that took place on September 11, 2001, to those events that took place on December 7, 1941.  

Appreciate the life you have.  Wade through the sorrow, the pain, the fear, the petty annoyances in which humanity sometimes threatens to drown.  Search for higher ground and reasons to rejoice.   Life is precious.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

For a few weeks after that attack, everyone was so much more human. Then things started going back to the same old grind.

Thanks for reminding us to rejoice and love.

Comment by Pamela

Yes, life is precious. I guess one “good” thing that came out of 9/11 is that each year it is a good reminder to tell your friends and family that you love them.

Comment by Karmyn R

Life is precious… well said!

Comment by Jodi




Leave a Reply

