A Day In The Life


The Language of Flowers
August 15, 2007, 9:49 pm
Filed under: Nature

“No gift is as beautiful as a flower. In their colors, scents, and shapes, flowers are as various as the moods of the human heart. These are the reasons why flowers are so often the messengers through which emotions, wishes, and thoughts are expressed.”

Some flowers have held meanings for centuries. The origin stories of many blooms can be found in mythology. Other associations are found in the gardens of folklore. Shakespeare included meaningful references to flowers throughout his plays. It was the Victorians who collected all these meanings and formed them into an elegant language without words. Hundreds of flowers, herbs, leaves and grasses were used in Victorian arrangements to send simple messages. The position of a ribbon binding a bouquet had significance. Combinations of blooms and greenery added even more variety to the botanical lexicon. Upside-down flowers carried opposite their normal meaning. An upright red rose spoke of true love to the receiver, but an inverted red rose was a terrible blow.   Flower colors were also very important.  According to the Victorian language of flowers, the yellow rose meant a decrease of love or infidelity while the white rose proclaimed spiritual love and purity. 

zinnias.jpg

The jolly faces of zinnias mean “thoughts of you” while the sunny rudbeckia in the foreground symbolizes justice.

phloxwporchbackgrnd.jpg

 

Phlox symbolize agreement, but the lavender on the right means distrust. 

petuniascloseupcarportside.jpg

Pretty petunias tell us “never despair”, however I’m feeling a bit despondent looking at all that grass growing up through my bricks.  I should have taken care of that before I took the picture. 

I like to think that I am fluent in the language of flowers, but the more I study, research and cultivate, the more I realize that I am simply a listener.  The flowers are all around, waiting to speak.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the pic of the flowers. They are so beautiful.

Come visit my melon patch, I have a gift for you. 🙂

Comment by Debbie

I am always amazed at the different techniques the Victorian era used to give meanings. Everything was always so proper on the outisde, but in truth, everything had a double entendre.

Comment by Karmyn R

cool pics! zinneas are pretty but I stay away from them – – hehe – – my dad grew them for crop a couple of years and my sis and I got to go and and pick them. . .

Comment by Shauna




Leave a Reply

