A Day In The Life


Friends
July 22, 2007, 11:02 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

1.  A person whom one knows, likes, and trusts.  2.  Any associate or acquaintance…  3.  A favored companion….  4.  One with whom one is allied in a struggle or cause; a comrade.

There are my friends from childhood, playmates with whom I shared so much of my life.  Together we learned so many of life’s lessons and remained friends in junior high and high school.   As teenagers we shared our secrets, our dreams and our goals for the future.  We stole each other’s boyfriends, forgave each other, broke up with each other, broke each other’s hearts, cried, and laughed.  Somehow we made it through those turbulent and overly dramatic episodes that we were convinced could only be understood and fully appreciated by people our own age because adults could not possibly understand what we were going through.  We competed for the top grades in our classes, positions on the basketball team, and spots on the yearbook staff.  We practiced piano, performed in talent shows and sang in our church choirs.  We knew everyone in our home town and everyone knew us. 

There are the friends from my college years with whom I shared the sweet freedom and exhilaration of embarking on the journey to adulthood.  We pulled all nighters studying for finals, pulled all nighters doing things we had no business doing and together we dreamed of changing the world.  We came face-to-face with death when one of us left this world at much too young an age.  We made beautiful music, wrote poetry, drank wine and considered ourselves intellectuals.  We came to realize that we were very small boats on the sea of humanity. 

There are my friends from adulthood some of whom I’ve known my entire life.  Some of us keep in touch by email and some of us only catch up with each other once a year when we exchange Christmas cards.   There are friends I work with, friends I talk to almost every day, friends I pray with, and friends I run into at the post office or the grocery store.  We share our happiness, our problems and, most importantly, our time.  We talk of the past, the present and the future.   We have joys and sorrows, but, most of all, we have each other. 

I don’t have one best friend.  Each of my friends is unique in his or her own special way and they bless my life with the gift of their friendship.  Whether they are a part of my past or my present, they are the companions I journey with in this wonderful adventure called Life. 

18 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s beautifully written. You said what I wanted to say only I couldn’t figure out how…

Comment by Susan

Songbird,
I like your viewpoint on friendship. Writing and reading about friends reminds me how important friends are.

Comment by mjd

You have conveyed that so well; it somehow says some of what I was thinking as I wrote mine-

Comment by chrisb

I can only reiterate what the others have written…a beautiful post on friendship and exquisitly written.

Comment by beccy

Beautifully written and your right each friend is unique. 🙂

Comment by Debbie

Friends are wonderful… and so was your post!

Comment by Jodi

Each friend IS unique. Great post on friends.

Comment by Joy T.

What a wonderful, extremely well written post. Well said! It was a joy to read! The last paragraph is my fave!

Comment by Kaytabug

A lovely post I enjoyed reading.

“Friends are the family we choose.”

Happy Monday!

Comment by JennieBoo

Good post – but you didn’t mention your CRAZY friends…or is that only me??

Comment by Tiggerlane

I wholeheartedly agree with your post…

Comment by Amy W

Great post – well done!

Comment by giveitatry

Ah ha! I knew I commented here before! I just figured out how come I didn’t see my name.

Comment by Willowtree

Hey I though that McConaughey guy was you best friend.

Comment by Willowtree

I feel the same way. Many friends, filling many voids.

I have one that has been my friend the longest – and it was about her that I originally planned to write. I’ll save her for another day

Comment by Pamela

Different friends fill different needs just the same as you fill some specific need to them. Great way of looking at it.

Comment by theotherbear

I agree. My mom had lots and lots of best friends. Nobody and everyone. I hope to be like her…. we have different friends who move closer and further all the time. Isn’t it so wonderful when friendship doesn’t demand of us? We can bring each other joy… and fill voids….

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

This is the sweetest post this Fun Monday I’ve read so far. Beautiful.

Comment by Rachel




Leave a Reply

