A Day In The Life


My First Ride
July 15, 2007, 11:31 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

Actually, my first ride was a red tricycle. Later I graduated to a green two-wheeler with training wheels.   When I was six years old, my dad bought me Champ, a beautiful copper penny-colored Quarter horse. 

meandchamp.jpg

I don’t know. I’ve never been that interested in cars. Basically, they get me from here to there and I’m happy with that.   But I will never forget the feeling I had when I took Champ out for a spin.  It was sweet freedom and the possibilities of my life seemed endless from the back of that horse.  I admit I had the same sort of feeling when I purchased my first car.  No one helped me, no one gave me advice, I just went to the dealership and chose a bright red sedan with a sun roof.  And I felt that same thrill, those same endless possibilities driving across the Chesapeake Bay-Bridge Tunnel with the wind blowing my hair, the sun shining through the roof and Dwight Yoakam singing from the tape player. 

sherrionchamp473.jpg

This is my little sister on Champ and for you Fun Monday purists, that is my first new car, bought and paid for by my dad, in the background.   A Dodge Omni that I drove for quite a few years.

champinpasture473.jpg

Champ was my first real ride though.   And with him I learned a lot about the freedom of the open road and the responsibilities associated with said freedom. 

Saddle up and head on over to Tiggerlane’s to see everyone else’s take on their transportation!

16 Comments so far
Leave a comment

hey.. new digs too???

I missed out on ever having horses except under the hood of a car.

I can sell a car, don’t know if I could sell a horse if I loved it.

Comment by Pamela

Thats a beautiful horse you had! I agree with you I would much rather be on the back of a horse then in any vehicle. There is just something about horseback riding.

Comment by my4kids

Very cool! I owned horses as a child too and there is nothing like being on the back of a horse. Well. Until the damn thing deliberatly goes between two trees and scrapes your leg all to hell. Then. Not so much fun.

Comment by Joy T.

Who needs a car when you have a horse?

Comment by mjd

Love your post today! ! ! Beautiful horse! ! ! I had one or two of them growing up – – – boy do I miss it! ! !

Comment by Shauna

Great post!

I have never even been on a horse – it is on my list of things to do.

Have a great Monday!

Comment by giveitatry

Ahh! A fellow Dodge Omni-ist. I thought I had the only one. You know how you see a car and then you see it or one like it everywhere. Well, I never saw another Omni. Must notta been very popular.

Comment by Robinella

Excellent take on the theme – thanks for participating!

The new blog look is BRIGHT!

Comment by Tiggerlane

I loved reading about your first love, I never learnt to horse ride but I imagine that it must be very exhilerating

Comment by beccy

What a beautiful horse!

Comment by Jenster

You crack me up with your trike being your first ride! The horse is a beauty and really can’t compare to any old ordinary car.

Comment by Susan

My first ride was a red tricycle too. Very creative post and horses are much prettier than any car. 🙂

Comment by Debbie

Took me a while to realise you’ve done some renovating. I had a truck just like the one in the background of the first picture, same colour and all! So you had a Mustang eh? Or was it a Pinto?

Comment by Willowtree

I’d prefer Champ, too! What a beauty!

Comment by Kila

Nice new look!

I’d skip the car too if there was a four-legged wonder like that for me to enjoy!

Comment by gawilli

Love the horses – much better than a car, any day!

Comment by theotherbear




Leave a Reply

