A Day In The Life


Skimmed Milk
June 21, 2007, 11:28 pm
Filed under: Matthew McConaughey, Music

Last week Tiggerlane asked me to listen to singing sensation Paul Potts’ rendition of “Nessun dorma.” By now you’ve probably all at least heard of him; the 36-year old mobile-phone salesman who won the British equivalent of American Idol.   I listened to his performance on YouTube.  It was a good performance.  Hard to tell what Potts is really capable of with such a small portion of the aria being sung, but what he sang was nice.  I think he has a long way to go in his quest to become Britain’s greatest opera star, but I suppose the exposure he has received has put him on the right track. 

turandot.jpg

I happen to own this recording of Turandot.  “Nessun dorma” is found in Act III.  For those of you who don’t recognize any of the singers’ names listed above, let me assure you that this is an all-star cast and the recording is superior.  I listened to Act III today just to satisfy myself that I am correct in saying that Paul Potts has a long way to go.  Pavarotti is one of the greatest voices of all time and comparing his performance of “Nessun dorma” to Paul Potts’ performance is like comparing a bowl of rich, lucious cream to a juice glass of skimmed milk. 

I was happy to read today that Paul Potts will invest some of the prize money he received in dental work for himself.  Having his teeth fixed will not only improve his appearance.  It should improve his voice.  The lips, tongue and teeth are articulators and very important to vocal production and technique.  I can’t help but believe, and I expressed this thought to Tiggerlane,  that opera’s popularity has suffered due to caricatures of unattractive opera singers belting out arias with unintelligible lyrics.   This is such a shame because operas contain some of the most beautiful music ever written.  My sincere hope is that Mr. Potts will help promote opera to the masses.  However, I believe opera’s acceptance and popularity would be wildly increased if the tenor singing “Nessun dorma” looked like this man. 

mcconaughey1.jpg

It may be true that “ladies swoon when the tenor sings,” but I’m feeling a bit faint without a single note being sung.  🙂

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Is there any topic that you can’t work a picture of that guy into?

Comment by Willowtree

Why must you always distract me from my blog reading with photos of Matthew… I’ll never get anything done!! tee hee

Have a great weekend!

Comment by Jodi

Once again I have to wipe the drool from my keyboard.

Comment by Debbie

Okay I am once again distracted as well!! lol

Comment by Tonya

You know…I never was all that impressed with Mathew, but seeing him haning out all the time over here…he’s getting more and more yummy.

Shaun works with a couple of opera aficionados..they all say that Potts has too much bravado (I think that’s what he said anyways) I suspect that with a little training he could do really well. But then again, I know pretty much nothing of music…

Comment by Susan

Just out of curiosity, I compared Potts’s rendition of that aria to that of each of the Three Tenors and even found one by Sarah Brightman (not bad, for a woman :-)). He came out a distant fourth, but like you, I hope he brings a new awareness to opera. The first opera I ever heard was a recording of Madame Butterfly, featuring Renata Tebaldi. Beautiful. I was immediately hooked. Someday, I’d love to see on by a professional opera company.

Comment by Betty

Ah…so Potts is going to go all “Elliot Yamin” on us.

And I NEVER said he was a singing sensation, just for the record! 🙂

Comment by Tiggerlane

I obviously don’t know much about opera, and to be honest, it never really tripped my trigger so I don’t know that I will get much farther than I am now. I followed the link to Youtube and listened to Mr. Potts and thought it was pretty cool. In fact I listened to it a few times. I like it when someone gets an opportunity to live a dream.

Comment by gawilli

I have the same recording!
You crack me up with the matthew pics

Comment by LeftCoastOnlooker

[…] July 4, 2007 Filed under: Music — arkansassongbird @ 11:58 pm In a recent post I expressed my opinion that opera is often misunderstood and ignored due to bad publicity.   So […]

Pingback by Carmen « Quarter Notes




Leave a Reply

