A Day In The Life


Crashing the Fun Monday Party
June 18, 2007, 2:15 am
Filed under: Family

MJD at Return of the White Robin is hosting this Monday’s festivities and I’m crashing the party.   I suppose I am one of the few people left in the world who doesn’t own a digital camera, but I do have a scanner so I scanned this family portrait.  It actually does hang on my bedroom wall.

familyportrait.jpg

This picture of my parents and me was taken by my granny sometime in the summer of 1961.   My dad is 24, my mom is 22 and I am 3.  We are posed in my grandparents’ front yard.  Togo, the Dachshund, also made it into the shot.  I know I’ve posted the photo before, but it means so much to me.  My dad’s smile, Mom’s classic elegance, the way I’ve reached my left hand to Daddy’s leg and Togo, my first pet and the love of my three year old life, caught in one precious moment in time.  My parents were in the process of building their new home, the house my mom still lives in.  My brother wouldn’t arrive until 1964 and a sister joined the family in 1966. 

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I liked that shot the first time you posted it, and I still do now. You’re not crashing the party, you know you’re always welcome.

Comment by Willowtree

Very cool picture! This could have doubled as a Father’s Day post because you sure look like Daddy’s Little Girl! Glad you joined in the fun! Aren’t photos a wonderful thing?

Comment by gawilli

Thank you for joining us for Fun Monday. Your picture is a lovely memory. Your mother is quite elegant, and you were the precious little girl with your hand on your daddy’s leg. I graduated from 9th grade in 1961.

Comment by mjd

I do not own a diggy cam either. My hubby keeps promising me one, but still nothing. I have not let him forget it either. *LOL*

I like the Picture! 🙂 Glad you joined in the fun. 🙂

Comment by Debbie

What a wonderful photo… thanks for sharing!! 🙂

Comment by Jodi

What a beautiful family photo. 1961 is the year I left school and 1966 was the year my first child was born.

Comment by chrisb

It’s a beautiful picture and deserves the spot of honor in your room

Comment by Susan

Just too sweet – and your mom looks so elegant, while your dad looks like the happiest man in the world to have you two by his side!

Comment by Tiggerlane

I always love your pics!
Who needs digital when you have vintage!?!

Comment by LeftCoastOnlooker

I can see why you love that – a gorgeous photo!

Comment by theotherbear

Glad you joined Fun Monday. This picture is gorgeous. There’s something about black and white that brings out the elegance in pictures.

Comment by Joy T.

You were as cute as a bunnies ear!

Comment by Pamela

Beautiful picture of the three of you…definitely a keeper!!

Comment by bichonpawz

What a beautiful picture and wonderful memory! I love photos from when my parents were young too, so I can understand why this one means so much to you.

(My father’s day post actually had a similar picture of my parents as a young couple with me as a baby).

Happy Fun Monday!

Comment by Karina




Leave a Reply

