A Day In The Life


Letters to the Editor
June 13, 2007, 9:47 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

The June 4 issue of Time featured a cover story on No Child Left Behind.  Another headline article in the same issue is entitled “One Day in The Life of Iraq: An intimate look at six American service members whose lives were cut short.”  As an educator, I could write volumes about NCLB.  As a concerned citizen, I could write volumes concerning how I feel about the war in Iraq.  Instead, I decided to share these letters to the editor found in my most recent issue of Time.

“I have observed that plenty of children get left behind.  The needs of students with no hope of passing proficiency tests and those who will certainly pass are largely ignored.  Pity the poor child who just barely fails.  He is prodded with extra tutoring morning, noon and night in the hope that his scores will cross into the light.  As a 33-year veteran music teacher, I also notice how the arts and other subjects are sometimes disregarded.  We are short-changing the multiple intelligences that our children possess.”

“As a teacher and parent, I give No Child Left Behind a failing grade.  There is no way to fix a law that operates under the flawed assumption that tests rather than teachers should govern curriculum.  Testing is simply a tool for measuring learning in the same way that a thermometer is an instrument for reading temperature.”

“As a public school teacher and mother of a Marine, I read with equal interest about NCLB and  ‘One Day in Iraq.’  It is ironic that I will lose my job if I fail to meet President George W. Bush’s NCLB benchmarks for progress in my  class, yet his Administration squanders our tax dollars and children’s lives and tells us we have no right to expect accountability and progress with its protracted war in Iraq.” 

“When the troops finally come home from Iraq and judgment of history is written, how will we justify to grieving parents the pointless deaths of their children in service of this monstrous blunder?” 

“The narrow-minded definition of what constitutes a bright human being is certainly altering the nature of the broader learning experience.”

I can’t think of anything more eloquent or accurate to add to these letters.  Pray for our children and those of us who teach them.  Pray for peace.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

the WASL tests in our state make the kids and teacher neurotics.

I think local school districts need to be in charge of schools … even state government is to big and impersonal

Comment by Pamela

Very eloquent. And thank you for sharing your Time subscription with me. I read them cover to cover.

I also wonder how Bush can reconcile his war in Iraq that takes many innocent adult lives with his opposition to legalized abortion.

Is it all a matter of timing?

Comment by Tiggerlane

Very well said. I have gotten an earful about NCLB from the teachers I know.

Comment by Betty

I do pray for Peace everyday in my own way. So I join you in that. And as for NCLB? Such garbage! I would have been left far behind in such a test driven curriculum. So will my son, if I’m not standing alert to be his advocate.

AAAARG! (How’s that for eloquent?)

Comment by Angelina

Amen and Amen.

Comment by gawilli




Leave a Reply

