A Day In The Life


The First Day
June 3, 2007, 10:45 pm
Filed under: Nature, Travel

My mom, my nieces and I took a trip to Petit Jean State Park last week. Petit Jean is Arkansas’s first state park. You can read about the history of the park here.  It is a very interesting story.  My nieces and I had never been to the park even though it is less than 3 hours from where we all were born and where I currently live.  The Petit Jean mountains aren’t really a part of the Ouachitas or the Ozarks.  They simply rise up from the Arkansas River Valley.

petitjeanfirstlookout.jpg

This picture was taken at the first overlook at the park’s entrance.  I took so many pictures at the overlook, but this is one of my favorites.  I like the dead trees rising up from the rocks.  I forgot to crop out the chain link fence in the bottom corner.   And, thank goodness for the chain link fence.  The sheer drop offs were enough to make me dizzy. 

canyonfrommatherlodge.jpg

Soon after arriving, we decided to hike the Cedar Creek Falls trail. The two-mile trail is rated moderate to strenuous and descends 200 feet into Cedar Creek Canyon. Needless to say, the moderate portion of the trail runs along the bottom of the canyon. This is the view from the front of Mather Lodge near the trail head.  Mom and my nieces are braver than me.  They walked over and looked down into the canyon.  I just stood back and took pictures. 

bottomcanyonlookingup.jpg

This was taken once we reached the canyon floor.   I was pretty much looking straight up and I used my zoom lens. 

cedarcreekincanyon.jpg

This is an excellent image of the terrain we were hiking through. This is Cedar Creek and, yes, there is actually water in this shot.  The water is slightly to the left of the trees on the right side of the picture.  I kept imagining how the creek would be dashing against all those rocks  after a torrential rain. 

cedarcreekfalls.jpg

Here we are at Cedar Creek Falls. The falls plummet down 95 feet to the canyon floor.

girlsresting.jpg

We stayed at the falls for about 30 minutes. I love this shot of my nieces contemplating the falls.   Big rocks, huh?!!!

fallsoverlook.jpg

After we hiked back up out of the canyon, we had a scrumptious meal at Mather Lodge. Before leaving the park for the day, we hiked the Cedar Falls Overlook trail. This was a super easy hike on a boardwalk with rails. I couldn’t get a real good shot of the falls through all the foliage, but this view shows how the water has worn the canyon walls over the years.  You can see another overlook point across the canyon.  I was amazed at the amount of vegetation growing from the crevices in the rocks. 

Stay tuned for the second day of hiking and exploration!

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

do you hear someone down there calling….jump, jump, jump. Yeah? Thats why I’m kind of standy backy.!!!

Lovely shots. Sure makes me want to visit it.

Comment by Pamela

Heights make me dizzy – I just imagine myself falling, and falling…

Beautiful place – I’ve never been to Petit Jean (just munched on the ham) – looking forward to hearing more of your adventures!

Comment by Tiggerlane

That’s absolutely beautiful!!

Comment by Jodi

Great shots .. looks like a cool place 🙂 Cant wait to see part 2!

Comment by Tonya

I almost passed out just looking at the pictures. On the one hand it looks like such a beautiful and peaceful place, on the other, a nightmare for someone like me who gets the irrational urge to jump off of heights in some weird psychological twist where I maybe figure I’m going to fall anyway and it would be more efficient to just fling myself.

Never the less, totally beautiful.

Comment by Angelina




Leave a Reply

