A Day In The Life


What Are They?
May 29, 2007, 6:41 pm
Filed under: Nature

I have always called these beautiful flowers amaryllis, but I was looking up when to divide them in “The Ultimate American Gardening Book” and, much to my suprise, they aren’t amaryllis. In fact, I couldn’t find a picture in any of my gardening books that looks exactly like these flowers.   My guess is that they are some sort of lily.  Regardless, they are lovely, aren’t they?  A friend gave me the bulbs.  She called them amaryllis, too.  She said they never did very well for her which is why I inherited them.  I must have the perfect soil for them because they really put on a show for me beginning around the first of May.  They are only now fading away. 

amaryllisgroup.jpg

amaryllis.jpg

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yes – they look like some type of lily…however, the leaves sure don’t. They are pretty though.

Comment by Karmyn R

We have a similar thing on the coast that my wife planted, but I don’t know what they’re called. Yours are very pretty.

Comment by willowtree

I found this information that might be of some help with regard to your flower indentification. I felt like it had to be an Amaryllis of some type myself because of the leaves and stalk.

Here is a link: http://www.amaryllis.com/cat/4/

It would appear to be a “Cybister Ruby Meyer” – see the bottom photo. Also supposedly rare…

Comment by Alan G

they are lovely flowers 🙂 The colour is great!

Comment by Tonya

Looks like some lilly action to me… I have similar from SpringHill.

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

Very pretty. It does remind me of the lily, one of my very favorites. The place where the stem meets the bloom looks more like an amaryllis.

Here is my google contribution: liliea belong to the genus Lilium – while amaryllis are of the genus Lycoris. For what it is worth…

Comment by gawilli

They are called VERY PRETTY FLOWERS! ! ! 🙂 Sorry. . .I think they are amaryllis. Very beautiful color!

Comment by Shauna

Yes — I’m with the lily folks. Definitely a lily. And you know what an expert I am.

Sorry I’ve been absent for a while – it’s been insane at work, but a GOOD type of insane.

Comment by Tiggerlane

Good day — I know that it’s been two years since you’ve posted this but I wanted to just pop in and properly identify this gorgeous heirloom flower if it is still a NOID (not identified). The proper ID of this flower is Hippeastrum johnsoniii a.k.a St. Joseph’s Lily (but really, an Amaryllis). If you ever do divide your beautiful clump again; please keep me in mind! I would be more than happy to send postage for a small division or even trade something from my garden in exchange. Take care and Happy New Year! :o)

Comment by Cy




Leave a Reply

