A Day In The Life


Growing Up Country
May 20, 2007, 10:06 pm
Filed under: Books

I had a very special group of senior choir students this year.   Some of them were born and raised right here just like I was and I went to school with some of their parents.  I found a great book that I am giving to those students called “Growing Up Country”.  The book was put together by Charlie Daniels.  It is a collection of essays written by folks who grew up country.  There are eight different topics that the essays are organized under including family, faith, hard work, starting out, stars and stripes, the great outdoors, music and home.  Each person who contributed to the book has a short introduction written about them.  A lot of the content was contributed by country music stars like Dolly Parton, Clint Black and Carrie Underwood, but some Southern rock artists, athletes and former President Jimmy Carter also wrote for the book. 

As I read through “Growing Up Country”, my heart was touched by so many familiar memories and I was amazed at how these famous people grew up in circumstances so similar to my own.  I shed a lot of tears as I read.  I think this paragraph by Dolly Parton really sums up the spirit of the entire book. 

“I guess most people can’t imagine being anything other than what they are.  And in my case, that’s country.  I can’t imagine what my life would have been without peaceful days, mountain streams, homegrown and home-cooked food, country church, and all-day singing with dinner on the grounds with family and friends.  It is all that keeps me sane in an otherwise crazy world these days.”

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

and yet she has store bought boobs.

Comment by Pamela

I don’t think you realize that stuff until you are older….and then miss it so want to return to it.

Comment by Karmyn R

And, that’s the reason wanted to continue raising my kids here and I didn’t move back to Little Rock after my divorce.

Comment by Betty

Okay, I want that book. I am going to the online bookstore right now. 🙂 Thanks for the heads up on it.

Comment by Julie

That sounds like a nice way to grow up. I guess I grew up suburban. It doesn’t sound near as romantic as growing up country, but I think the values were the same. The only thing that was really lacking was the all day singing…unless you want to count me, myself, and I.

Comment by gawilli




Leave a Reply

