A Day In The Life


Spring Fling
April 27, 2007, 10:47 pm
Filed under: Nature, Seasons

A good three-fourths of my back yard is actually garden. The large bed in the foreground is right outside my back door and contains rosemary, daylilies, liatris, purple coneflowers, lilies and a host of other flowers and herbs. The bed narrows and extends all the way to the barbed-wire gate. A lot of the garden looks like lawn because so many perennials weren’t up when I took this photo in March. A strip of lawn runs from the gate to my drive way. I can’t plant anything there because the rural electric company frequently has to drive through my yard to get to power lines and poles that extend from my property down into the woods and eventually to other homes in the country neighborhood.  You can see my morning glory tee pee and a small corner of what I call my large garden where there is a section of white picket fence. 

springgardens.jpg

The east side of my yard has a parade of shrubs that extend from the front corner to the back corner. Two old-fashioned lilacs are the parade’s opening act.  Can you see the fat bumblebee in the center near the top?  One of my bedroom windows opens to the east so that I can go to sleep smelling lilacs in the early spring. 

lilac07.jpg

A large circular bed in my front yard is home to tulips, daffodils, hyacinths, crocus and snowflakes in the spring.   Here we see trumpet daffodils, dwarf red tulips and tiny Tete-a-Tete narcissus.   Creeping phlox borders one side of this bed and miniature, variegated ivy completes the circle on the other side.

redtulipsdaffys1.jpg

Another participant in my shrub parade is spiraea vanhouttei more commonly known as Bridal Wreath spirarea.

spirea07.jpg

After the red tulips and daffodils have faded away, the pink tulips bloom.  Then, when the pink tulips are fully opened and beginning to fade, the diva of all tulips takes the stage.  Queen of the Night is always the last tulip to bloom.  Her buds are deceptively lavender in color, but as the buds open her rich, dark purple blooms appear.  You can see a few fading snowflakes (leucojum) in the background and my Easter bunny banner. 

queenofthenight.jpg

All of these pictures were taken in March and early April. My spring fling is over for the year. We’ve had lots of rain and everything is growing rapidly. We should be ready for the next garden party in June!

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think our neighbors down the streets have those nearly black tulips. When I was walking the other night – I noticed them with a certain feeling of envious delight.

We’re still in the process of working on our yard – as the one year ago complete tear up and replacement of the septic system ruined everything. And then it rained for 40 days and 40 night and we couldn’t get anything planted.

If you go back to my beginning blogging in June – I tell the sordid details.

Love your garden. Looks peaceful (hope you don’t have a septic drain field under it waiting to spew)

Comment by Pamela

Gorgeous! I can’t wait to see pictures of your lilies in bloom!

My lilacs are all too small, yet, to bloom. I am patiently waiting though. I LOVE their fragrance.

Comment by Karmyn R

Your Lilacs are absolutely gorgeous!
I miss lilacs — I don’t think there are any here, I’ve been looking.

Comment by LeftCoastOnlooker

Don’t you just love this time of year? (for you I mean, I’m going the other way towards Winter)

Comment by Willowtree

So pretty!!!!!!! You make spring feel like it might actually be here! I thank you!!!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

I love your backyard!! The Queen of the Night tulips are amazing.

Comment by Jodi

wow…the yard is great!! this is why I love springtime.

Comment by claudia

Beautiful, of course! I’m gonna have you be my landscaping consultant after the new house is built.

Comment by Tiggerlane

it looks great and looks like such a big yard 🙂 I could see the bumblebee as well.. my MIL has some nice flowers as well and lots of bees.. lol

Comment by Tonya

Great garden tour! Do the old fashioned lilacs smell differently than the modern varieties?

Comment by Angelina




Leave a Reply

