A Day In The Life


And the Winner Is…..
April 20, 2007, 8:54 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

Pamela from The Dust Will Wait. And why, you may ask, is Pamela a winner? Well, I’m sure she is a winner for many, many reasons, but in this instance she is the winner because she posted comment number one thousand on my blog.

“I’d love the lecture on birds of prey.  Is this anywhere near the sighting of the woodpecker that was considered extinct?”

This was Pamela’s comment on my recent Cossatot post.  Yes, Pamela, you would have loved the lecture!  I didn’t mention in my post that the lecturers actually had several birds with them.   The birds we saw had all been injured in some way and were no longer able to survive in the wild.  They were still magnificent.  We saw a screech owl, barred owl, barn owl, great horned owl, Cooper’s hawk, red-shouldered hawk, red-tailed hawk, kestrel, black vulture and, the star of the show, a female bald eagle.  And, to answer your question about the ivory-billed woodpecker…..no, the Cossatot area is not really close to where the woodpecker was sighted.  That was all the way across the state in the southeastern wetlands. 

canyouhearit1.jpg

This is your prize, Pamela.  It is a terrific book and CD set from the Metropolitan Museum of Art which introduces children to classical music through great works of art.  I know you have grandchildren and, really, the book/CD is highly enjoyable at any age.  The narrative points out sound clues in the paintings, then gives prompts for listening to the music.  There is also an illustrated introduction to musical instruments and background on the artists, composers, and the works of art featured in the book.   I hope you enjoy it and thanks for being such a faithful reader!!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

wow. I’ve been doubly blessed today. A swampy and now a book and CD. YOU BET I will love it and use it.
Can’t wait.

Yesterday I photographed a Swainson’s Hawk. I’m going to put that picture on my blog. I have a kestrel and a sharp shinned hawk that hang around my bird feeders. I try to allow nature to take it’s course. But I still cry when I see a round pile of feathers where one of the little guys became lunch.

I heard the Northern saw whet owls a few nights ago.. but they aren’t nesting in the maples next door this year.

Comment by Pamela

Phew! That was close.

Comment by Willowtree

Goodie – I will get to hear it too then, next time I visit.

Comment by Karmyn R

I’m like TOTALLY chuckling at Willowtree.

Then again, I got really immersed at the National Gallery a few weeks back, so I’m all “arted out.”

Glad you mentioned the woodpecker, too. I always wonder when I see those larger ones around here with those big red crests. Pilated are the endangered? Or are those the ones around here?

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

