A Day In The Life


Sorrow
April 16, 2007, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Family

I am stunned and shocked.  I feel as though my heart is bleeding.  I just read and posted about Jodi Picoult’s book “Nineteen Minutes” and now the tragedy at Virginia Tech.  I lived in Roanoke, Virginia, which is so close to Blacksburg.  I had friends and employees who were attending Virginia Tech in the late 80’s.  It all feels so close to home and I’m at least a thousand miles away.  My heart aches for what the people of that community are going through.  The students, the parents, the friends, the families……I pray for them all. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My deepest sympathies to anyone with an connection at all. I know this is no time for moralising, but I just can’t understand how some people in America fail to accept that there is a connection between this type of tragedy and automatic weapons.

Comment by Willowtree

It is not in my imagination why someone could be so evil.

Comment by Pamela

We are all stunned. It’s so hard to understand why people think killing is the answer to their problems.

Comment by Betty

You know, I think we have all come to the realization that this can happen anywhere at anytime. Even so, you never really believe that it will. Virginia Tech has been the heartbeat of Blacksburg for so long – the town will never be the same.

I am still in complete disbelief.

Comment by susaninva

You totally have to let me borrow the book now.

I have watched endless coverage (you know how I am), and theorized early on (I realize now how right I was) about the quantity of bullets this guy had to shoot in order to carry out this heinous act.

It took SERIOUS planning, and a cold, steely nature to pull off this kind of thing.

Most victims have more than one gunshot wound. This guy not only had a semi-automatic weapon, but an AMAZING amount of ammunition and resolve. It’s not just the guns at fault.

Praise his former instructor who noticed the early signs of his depravity in his writings and tried to get help. Be saddened that b/c of our free society, nothing could be done then.

Comment by Tiggerlane




Leave a Reply

