A Day In The Life


That’s A Lot of Bull
April 2, 2007, 7:30 pm
Filed under: Odds and Ends

Last week my mom decided she needed to buy a new bull.  The first order of business was to get her current bull in the corral so the hauler could load him up and take him to the sale barn.  This is Dixon, the bull that Mom sold.

dixon1.jpg

I freely admit that when it comes to bulls, I am a coward.  I was especially nervous around Dixon because he was nuts.  This bull did crazy things like attack my mom’s truck one morning when she was feeding hay.  I guess she wasn’t getting the hay off the back of the truck fast enough to suit him and he charged the truck.  He butted his head against her truck, folks.  On another occasion, he charged my mom.  Again, she was feeding hay and Mom told me she had never run and jumped into the truck as fast as she did that morning.  

Needless to say, I am so glad Mom finally decided to sell Dixon.  He scared the pee out of me with just a glance in my direction.   I was happily snapping pictures of Dixon in the corral.  Suddenly, he looked in my direction and let out a bellow.  I got this picture as I was jogging backwards away from the corral.  Ok, I’ll tell the truth.  I snapped this picture then turned tail and ran away from the corral. 

dixontongue.jpg

Can you blame me for running?!! The sale barn weighed him in at over 1600 pounds. Mom got a very good price for him. She was able to pay for her new bull and still have a tidy sum left over.   Dixon was no where near as big as the stock used for bull riding in rodeos.  Makes me realize how brave (?) those cowboys are!! 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

bwwwwaaaah ha ha ha ha…. he’s onlyi sticking his tongue out at ya!!!!

Comment by Pamela

He looks a lot like the five Angus bulls my neighbour has in a paddock next to my place. Luckily they are all pretty good natured (I mean it’s really lucky, I have to get my firewood from that paddock), except when they can smell girl cows.

Comment by willowtree

I wouldn’t mess around with him at all –

of course, I am a complete chicken – I am even afraid of my in-laws miniature goats and they only weigh about 50 lbs.

Comment by Karmyn R

Just looking at the photos scare me!! Any animal that is willing to take on a vehicle has my upmost respect!! 🙂

Comment by Jodi

Brings back memories….

when I was young my Grandpa had a huge bull penned up getting ready for the sale. My cousins and Iw ould throw crab apples at him to distract him while the other cousin would run across the pen behind the bull. We were both brave and stupid.

Just to clarify. I am too chicken to run across the pen. I was always the one throwing crab apples.

My Grandpa caught us. That was the end of our fun. He was more mad than I have ever seen him.

Comment by Vicki

I’d stay away from that bull, too!

Comment by Betty

Oh, by the way – I’ve tagged you in my post coming out tomorrow (WEdnesday)

Comment by Karmyn R

Good Lord! I would run like you! For sure!

Comment by Suzy_q

Actually….I probably wouldn’t have got in there to take his picture in the first place! 🙂 How brave you are!

Comment by Suzy_q

That bull was mocking you Songbird.. I can tell! It was his time to find greener pastures! lol

Comment by Amy

I would have been terrified!

Comment by Angelina

I don’t think I’d get too close. And that’s no bull 😉

Comment by momto3cubs

what a bully!! 🙂

Comment by Claudia




Leave a Reply

