A Day In The Life


Roll Over Beethoven
March 24, 2007, 11:09 am
Filed under: Music

Music is a universal language.  Music speaks to virtually everyone in some form or fashion.   I want my students to appreciate the music they hear and sing.  They don’t have to like all the various genres and styles, but it is important that they appreciate the intrinsic value of music.  And it is important that they have an understanding of music’s impact on culture, history and societal values.  I expect my students to recognize and appreciate the artistry of Mozart, the Beatles,  Puccini, Led Zeppelin, Handel, Jimmy Hendrix and countless other artists and composers. 

For the most part, I am satisfied with my students’ musical knowledge and with their general respect for music.  Then there are those irksome moments in the life of a music professional.  Case in point:  A student asked me if I had heard “The Garfield Song.”  He went on and on about it being such a great song.  He told me he would bring his CD to school so I could hear “The Garfield Song.”  I was prepared to hear something along the lines of the SpongeBob Squarepants theme song….some catchy little tune written expressly for the Garfield movie.  Imagine my surprise when “The Garfield Song” actually turned out to be James Brown singing “I Feel Good.” 

“That’s not ‘The Garfield Song’,” I exclaimed.  “That’s James Brown.  He’s the Godfather of Soul, for pete’s sake!  That’s a classic!  Garfield has nothing to do with that music!”  My student was somewhat taken aback, but I couldn’t help myself.  

A lesson plan on the music of James Brown is in the works.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I like the looks of your new blog.pretty snazy.people make such nice blogs.I still dont know how to change to much and I do as little changing as I can do to the trouble I had to begin with.have a great weekend.God bless.

Comment by leaan

The Beatles music used to be safe from that sort of crassness until Micheal Jackson bought the catalogue. I tried to think of a few more examples but it’s late and my brain isn’t working. But what i can say is that the classics have suffered more than their fair share bastardization through TV commercials.

Comment by Willowtree

I really like your new look at quarter notes! The one classic that is always heard in commercials is ‘Pacabels Cannon’, sorry I’m sure messed the spelling. It is lovely and then it is being used to sell us things…Ugh!

Enjoy your Saturday!

Comment by Devon

LOL!!!! That’s hilarious!

Don’t ask me why, but this post made me think of the “Rabbit of Seville” episode on Bugs Bunny – every time I wash the kids hair, I start humming “The Barber of Seville” tune. They’ve never even seen the show and are reduced to hysterics EVERY SINGLE TIME! Little did I know as a kid that this was the song of a classic composer! Kind of like your student, huh?

Comment by Susan in va

YIKES –

That’s the same when a new artist does a rendition of an older song and all the young people hear it for the “first time” and are amazed that it has been sung before. (I usually like the older version better).

Comment by Karmyn R

I wish you were teaching music in my children’s school system! I have made musical diversity my responsibility in our home. I am heavy on The Beatles….. but do you blame me?

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

hahaha!! well, you’ve got to give it to the kid for at least trying!! and hey, at least he still recognized some good music! LOL!!

Comment by Claudia




Leave a Reply

