A Day In The Life


Practice Makes Perfect
March 23, 2007, 12:47 am
Filed under: School Buzz

Doremi birds

A fourth grade student brought me an article she “thought I might like to read.”  Before handing me the scrap of newspaper, she told me she wrote her name in the margin so I would remember who gave me the article.   It seemed to be a VERY big deal that her dad let her tear the article out of the newspaper in the first place.  I felt honored!  The article stated, “Some birds sing in their sleep.  Researchers believe that while young birds sleep at night, they may be reviewing the songs they’ve learned from their parents during the day.”  My student rightly believed I would love the article because she has heard me say repeatedly that we will practice our songs until we can sing them in our sleep.  I love it when students apply what they’ve learned in my classes to “real world” situations.  Gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling!

14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That is very cool!!! I wonder if we put a microphone up to the birdhouses in my yard if we could determine this truth.

Comment by Karmyn R

Yes, Karmyn, instead of a spy camera we need a spy microphone to bug the birdhouses!!

Comment by arkansassongbird

Welcome to your new digs. I meant to comment a couple of days ago but my connection was awful. I tried WordPress, but found it intolerably slow and not very user friendly. I hope you have better luck than me.

Comment by Willowtree

isn’t that the best feeling? ~ Makes you warm all over.

Makes me warm all over too. Thanks for sharing.

Comment by Vicki

What a sweet story! I will be going through Friday with a smile on my face after reading that!

I hope you are very happy with your new “home”. I’ve updated my links!!

Have a great weekend.

Comment by Jodi

I’m with Jodi — what a sweet story!! I love love love hearing kid stories…. Thanks for today’s smile!

Comment by Grim Reality Girl

What a priceless moment 🙂

Comment by momto3cubs

aww that is so cute 🙂 I love the new blog!

Comment by Tonya

You sound like such a good teacher; one that really make music come alive! I don’t know that I have the stamina to teach, but if this was my calling I think music would be my choice. It is good to make a difference in a person’s life. Bravo!

Comment by gawilli

I like the look of your new blog. What a nice story. Those warm fuzzy moments should be cherished. The claim makes sense to me people tlak in their sleep so birds must sing in their sleep.

Comment by mjd

I have missed you! I’m so glad you’re back. I’ll have to check out your new digs tomorrow when I have more time.

I would have loved that too if I was a teacher.

Comment by Angelina

Kids are so cool. Mine e-mail me with articles & bring in videos about our topics – it’s fun.
Great new setup you have here

Comment by LeftCoastOnlooker

Hey! I like your new “place.” I had been wondering where you’d gone. Love this story. that is such a cool story. I also like that a 4th grader reads the paper!!

Comment by Claudia

I’ve heard people singing in their sleep.

And I will be on the listen-out for any birds in the bird houses.
If I get any resident babies I”m going to sneak out in the middle of the night and listen.

(:

Comment by Pamela




Leave a Reply

